This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 14 October, 2019

Liam Sheedy makes two changes as Tipperary welcome Cody's Cats to Thurles

The Premier County are looking to bounce back from last Sunday’s defeat to Wexford.

Walter Walsh and James Barry in action in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A final last April.
Walter Walsh and James Barry in action in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A final last April.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

LIAM SHEEDY HAS made two changes ahead of his side’s highly-anticipated Allianz Hurling League clash at home to Kilkenny on Sunday [throw-in 2.00pm].

Alan Flynn and Willie Connors were both second-half introductions in their side’s narrow 1-15 to 1-14 defeat to Davy Fitzgerald’s Wexford on Sunday afternoon and both men hold their places for this weekend’s match.

Brian Cody, meanwhile, has made four changes from the side which suffered a nine-point defeat to All-Ireland champions Limerick last weekend.

Richie Leahy and James Maher both drop to the bench, while Enda Morrissey and Kevin Kelly drop out of the Cats’ squad for the visit to Semple Stadium as Jason Cleere, Alan Murphy, Ger Malone and Liam Blanchfield all come in.

Tipperary team vs Kilkenny

1. Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy)

2. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Séamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s)
6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Robert Byrne (Portroe)

8. Michael Breen (Ballina)
9. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)

10. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

13. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
14. Séamus Callanan (captain) (Drom-Inch)
15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

Kilkenny team vs Tipperary

1. Eoin Murphy

2. Paul Murphy
3. Conor Delaney
4. Tommy Walsh

5. Conor Fogarty
6. Paddy Deegan
7. Jason Cleere

8. Padraig Walsh
9. Alan Murphy

10. John Donnelly
11. Walter Walsh
12. Ger Malone

13. Billy Ryan
14. Liam Blanchfield
15. Martin Keoghan 

Murray Kinsella, Andy Dunne and Gavan Casey look ahead to Ireland’s Six Nations meeting with Italy and discuss the week’s biggest stories in the latest episode of The42 Rugby Weekly.

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Soundcloud subscription code

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel