Nine changes to All-Ireland final XV as Kilkenny welcome Dubs to Nowlan Park

Brian Cody is without his Ballyhale contingent following last weekend’s All-Ireland club heroics.

Kilkenny manager Brian Cody.
Kilkenny manager Brian Cody.
Image: Tom O'Hanlon/INPHO

KILKENNY HAVE NAMED their team to face Dublin in Sunday’s league opener for both counties at Nowlan Park (2pm).

Just six players — Eoin Murphy, Huw Lawlor, Paddy Deegan, Conor Fogarty, John Donnelly and Walter Walsh — remain from Brian Cody’s team who fell heavily to Tipperary in last year’s All-Ireland final, albeit the Cats are without their Ballyhale Shamrocks contingent following last weekend’s club heroics.

Conor Delaney, Richie Leahy and Billy Ryan all came off the bench against Tipp last August and start on Sunday.

Notable absentees include Tullaroan’s Padraig Walsh and Paul Murphy, who is on army duty in Lebanon, as well as Conor Browne, Cillian Buckley and Richie Hogan.

Kilkenny (v Dublin)

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Ciarán Wallace (Erin’s Own)
3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)

5. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
6. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
7. Michael Carey (Young Irelands)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
9. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
12. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)
15. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)


16. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)
17. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
18. Aidan Nolan (Dicksboro)
19. Tom Kenny (Dicksboro)
20. James Maher (St Lachtains)
21. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)
22. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro)
23. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
25. Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens)
26. David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel