This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 20 November, 2019

8 goals for Kilkenny as they claim 52-point win against Derry in All-Ireland U21 mismatch

Eddie Brennan’s side cruised into the final on 9 September.

Tommy Walsh and Eamon McGill A tough day at the office for the Derry hurlers. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kilkenny 8-35
Derry 0-7

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

THE SCORELINE VIVIDLY illustrates the gulf in class that existed in today’s first Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21 hurling semi-final and the urgent need for a revamp of this championship.

Kilkenny cruised past Derry to book their first All-Ireland final place in this grade since 2012 but by claiming a 52-point victory, they will have learned little ahead of the decider after this complete mismatch.

It was a tough game for Ulster champions Derry to endure and while they battled manfully to the finish, Kilkenny’s superiority was pronounced from the start as this match bolstered the support for semi-finals to be dispensed with in this championship.

Kilkenny raised eight green flags with five coming in the first half courtesy of a brace from Billy Ryan and one apiece from John Donnelly, Richie Leahy and Shane Walsh.

They were 5-12 to 0-4 clear at the interval and surged further ahead in the second half with Walsh notching his second goal, while Eoin Kenny and Luke Scanlon also raised green flags.

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

The writing was on the wall for Derry when they shipped three early goals and trailed Kilkenny by 3-1 to 0-1 after 9 minutes. By the time Billy Ryan slammed the fourth goal to the roof of the net in the 16th minute, the match was over as a contest.

Derry goalkeeper Francis McEldowney did his best to limit the damage, producing three blocks to deny Kilkenny further first-half goals. But with a 22-point advantage in their possession at half-time, Kilkenny were already switching their attentions to the final by the midway mark.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Shane Walsh 2-7 (0-4f), John Donnelly 1-7, Liam Blanchfield 0-6, Billy Ryan 2-0, Eoin Kenny, Richie Leahy, Luke Scanlon 1-1 each, Alan Murphy 0-4 (0-1f), John Walsh 0-3, Niall McMahon, Darren Mullen, Huw Lawlor, Seán Morrissey, Ryan Bergin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Derry: Cormac O’Doherty 0-3, Darragh Cartin (0-1f), Ciarán Steele, Corey Reilly, Brendan Laverty 0-1 each.


1. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)

2. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
3. Conor Delaney (Erins Own)
4. Niall McMahon (Erins Own)

5. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
7. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

8. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)
9. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)

15. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
12. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
22. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge – captain)

13. Shane Walsh (Tullaroan)
11. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)


21. John Walsh (Mullinavat) for Ryan (20)
19. Aidan Nolan (Dicksboro) for Cleere (23)
16. Alan Murphy (Glenmore) for Leahy (half-time)
10. Eoin Kenny (Slieverue) for Morrissey (half-time)
17. Ryan Bergin (John Lockes) for Tommy Walsh (48)


1. Francis McEldowney (Slaughtneil)

9. Conor Kelly (Kevin Lynch’s)
7. Shane McGuigan (Slaughtneil)
2. Séamus Higgins (Kevin Lynch’s)

5. Eamon McGill (Lavey)
4. Ruairí McCartney (Slaughtneil)
3. Paddy Turner (Swatragh)

6. Ciarán Steele (Kevin Lynch’s – captain)
8. Conor McAllister (Slaughtneil)

10. Thomas Magee (Coleraine)
14. Cormac O’Doherty (Slaughtneil)
18. Gabriel Farren (Banagher)

13. Darragh Cartin (Banagher)
11. Odhran McKeever (Kevin Lynch’s)
12. Corey Reilly (Kevin Lynch’s)


17. Brendan Laverty (Lavey) for Magee (half-time)
20. Proinsias Burke (Slaughtneil) for Farren (half-time)
16. Conor McCrystal (Banagher) for McEldowney (37)
19. John Mullan (Kevin Lynch’s) for Turner (43)
23. Seán F. Quinn (Swatragh) for McGuigan (53)

Referee: John O’Brien (Laois)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Relentless Cork fire six goals past Galway as they steamroll on for seven in-a-row

‘I’m poles apart from that person’ – 20 years on, Maurice Fitz returns to face Mayo again

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel