This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Strong teams for Deise and Kilkenny as Cody starts 10 Cats from All-Ireland final defeat

Padraig Walsh will feature in a new role at full-back.

Image: Inpho

BRIAN CODY AND Derek McGrath have both named experienced teams for Sunday’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1A opener between Kilkenny and Waterford.

TJ Reid and Richie Hogan are in Kilkenny’s lineup, while Cody gives league debuts to Conor O Shea, Ollie Walsh, Pat Lyng and Sean Morrissey.

The Kilkenny boss has gone with 10 of the side who started last year’s All-Ireland final defeat to Tipperary.

Tullaroan’s Padraig Walsh will feature in a new role at full-back, having been more accustomed to the half-back line since he stormed onto the inter-county scene.

The Cats are without Michael Fennelly, Colin Fennelly, Cillian Buckley and Ger Aylward, who is nearing a return from a cruciate injury.

Stephen Daniels and Mikey Kearney are the fresh faces to appear in the Deise starting 15 with both players lining out on the half-back line.

Veterans Kevin Moran and Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh start in attack.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Conor O Shea (Clara)

5. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
17. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)

10. Pat Lyng Rower (Inistioge)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

13. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
17. Stephen Daniels (De La Salle)
21. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
23. Tom Devine (Modeligo)
20. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

Eamonn Fitzmaurice looks to the future as 3 players make first league start against Mayo

Kieran Kingston hands league debuts to five U21s in new-look Cork side

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: