Leinster go for Gopperth at 10 against Castres while Moore starts at tighthead

Mike Ross misses out on the match day squad altogether, while Kane Douglas is on the bench.

Wasps-bound Gopperth will start at out-half tomorrow.
Wasps-bound Gopperth will start at out-half tomorrow.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

MATT O’CONNOR HAS selected Jimmy Gopperth at out-half for Leinster’s Pool 2 Champions Cup meeting with Castres at the RDS tomorrow evening [KO 17.30].

That means Ian Madigan reverts to inside centre, having made his two most recent Leinster starts in the 10 shirt.

Elsewhere, 23-year-old Marty Moore will start at tighthead prop, with the inclusion of Wexford man Tadhg Furlong as back-up meaning 44-times capped Ireland international Mike Ross misses out on the match day squad.

Captain Jamie Heaslip returns to the XV after missing last weekend’s bonus-point win away to the Cardiff Blues in the Pro12 with a shoulder injury, starting in between openside flanker Jordi Murphy and blindside Jack Conan.

Australian international Kane Douglas has to make do with a bench spot as Mike McCarthy partners line-out leader Devin Toner in the second row, while Sean Cronin gets the nod ahead of Richardt Strauss at hooker.

Jack McGrath’s suspension and Cian Healy’s ongoing recovery from a hamstring injury mean Michael Bent starts at loosehead, while Moore’s return against Cardiff after a long spell out following shoulder surgery has earned him the number three shirt.

Eoin Reddan is picked alongside Gopperth in the half-backs, while Luke Fitzgerald returns at outside centre. The back three is made up of Irish internationals Rob Kearney, Fergus McFadden and Dave Kearney.

LeinsterÕs Marty Moore Marty Moore is in the XV at tighthead prop. Source: Inpho/Billy Stickland

Luke McGrath provides scrum-half cover from the bench, while veteran centre Gordon D’Arcy and Darragh Fanning are also in reserve. Dominic Ryan is the replacement back row, while Strauss, Jamie Hagan, Furlong and Douglas are the forwards subs.

Castres, meanwhile, have named a stronger-then-expected starting team, with key man Rory Kockott returning at scrum-half. Scotland internationals Richie Gray and Johnnie Beattie both start, although France international out-half Remi Tales is left on the bench.


15. Rob Kearney
14. Fergus McFadden
13. Luke Fitzgerald
12. Ian Madigan
11. Dave Kearney
10. Jimmy Gopperth
9. Eoin Reddan

1. Michael Bent
2. Sean Cronin
3. Marty Moore
4. Devin Toner
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Jack Conan
7. Jordi Murphy
8. Jamie Heaslip (captain)


16. Richardt Strauss
17. Jamie Hagan
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Kane Douglas
20. Dominic Ryan
21. Luke McGrath
22. Gordon D’Arcy
23. Darragh Fanning


15. Julien Dumora
14. Romain Martial
13. Thomas Combezou
12. Romain Cabannes (capt.)
11. Marcel Garvey
10. Daniel Kirkpatrick
9. Rory Kockott

1. Saimone Taumoepeau
2. Marc-Antoine Rallier
3. Ramiro Herrera
4. Richie Gray
5. Christophe Samson
6. Ibrahim Diarra
7. Jannie Bornman
8. Johnnie Beattie


16. Mathieu Bonello
17. Paea Faanunu
18. Benjamin Desroche
19. Yohan Montes
20. Piula Faasalele
21. Remi Tales
22. Remi Grosso
23. Antoine Dupont

Roux buying into Connacht’s culture but has great memories of Leinster

Ex-Ireland bruiser Neil Best on how to make the perfect hit and THAT game vs Australia

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: