Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 0°C Monday 25 January 2021

Leinster, Toulon and Saracens in Tier One for Rugby Champions Cup draw

Munster, semi-finallists in 2013 and 2014, will have to settle for a spot in Tier Two. Ulster may not be so lucky.

Gordon D'Arcy and Mathieu Bastareaud in Heineken Cup action last season.
Gordon D'Arcy and Mathieu Bastareaud in Heineken Cup action last season.
Image: James Crombiee/INPHO

LEINSTER HAVE BEEN confirmed as a Tier One side ahead of Tuesday’s European Rugby Champions Cup in Switzerland on Tuesday.

The three-time European Cup champions exited in the pool stages in 2013 and were eliminated in last season’s quarter finals by Toulon. The French side, who are aiming to retain their title in 2015, are also a Tier One team, as are beaten 2014 finalists Saracens.

Despite reaching the semi final for the past two seasons, Munster will be in Tier Two when the draw is made at the Stade de la Maladière in Neuchatel on 10 June.

The tier placings are based on league positions under the new cup guidelines. This means Ulster, who finished fourth in the RaboDirect Pro12 may find themselves as a third ranked team when the draw is made.

There are two remaining spots for Tier One seedings and three teams hoping to get top slot. Northampton Saints, Castres Olympique and Glasgow Warriors will be hoping the preliminary draw will go in their favour. Saints won the Premiership, Castres lost the Top 14 final to Toulon and Warriors were defeated by Leinster in the Pro12 final.

Saints won the Premiership but European Professional Club Rugby, who now runs the continent’s elite club competition, confirmed that final league standings take precedence so Sarries get top spot.

Previous rankings were decided on past European performances.

What do you make of the new ranking system?

They already have a trophy but Paul O’Connell eager to wrap up Argentinean series win

Gavin Duffy refuses to line out for club in order to watch Mayo v Roscommon

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next: