Tom Maher/INPHO Opportunity: Ciarán Frawley.
Team news

Frawley gets start at 10 for Leinster, Munster welcome back Conway

The provinces face off in a pre-season friendly in Cork tomorrow.

LAST UPDATE | Sep 7th 2023, 3:25 PM

CIARÁN FRAWLEY STARTS at out-half for Leinster in tomorrow evening’s friendly with Munster at Musgrave Park (KO: 6pm). 

The 25-year-old last started as 10 for Leinster against Benetton last September. 

Scott Penny captains the team, that includes four senior internationals in the starting lineup, along with four members of the province’s academy.

Jordan Larmour starts at full-back, with Tommy O’Brien and Rob Russell on the wings. Liam Turner and Ben Brownlee form the centre partnership, with Frawley and Cormac Foley completing the backline.

Academy props Jack Boyle and Rory McGuire pack down either side of Lee Barron. Brian Deeny and Jason Jenkins are in the heart of the pack, with Max Deegan, Penny and James Culhane in the back row.

The bench includes nine Academy players, along with experience from the likes of Leinster centurions Ross Molony and Luke McGrath.

Munster welcome back both Andrew Conway and Jack Daly after the pair missed last season due to injury.

Jack O’Donoghue captains a Munster squad which includes seven Academy players, with Kieran Ryan, Evan O’Connell and Shay McCarthy all set to make their first senior appearances off the bench. Ireland U19 international Stephen Kiely is also in line to debut.

Simon Zebo starts at full-back for the first time since returning to the province in 2021 with Conway and Calvin Nash on either wing.

There is a new-look centre partnership of Rory Scannell and Shane Daly, with Daly starting in midfield for the first time since 2018.

Neil Cronin and Tony Butler start in the half-backs. Academy out-half Butler, who made his competitive debut against Wasps in December 2021, makes his first senior start in the 10 jersey.

Josh Wycherley, Scott Buckley and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Gavin Coombes in the second row alongside Fineen Wycherley.

O’Donoghue, John Hodnett and Alex Kendellen start in the back row. 


  • 15. Simon Zebo
  • 14. Andrew Conway
  • 13. Shane Daly
  • 12. Rory Scannell
  • 11. Calvin Nash
  • 10. Tony Butler
  • 9. Neil Cronin
  • 1. Josh Wycherley
  • 2. Scott Buckley
  • 3. Stephen Archer
  • 4. Gavin Coombes
  • 5. Fineen Wycherley
  • 6. Jack O’Donoghue (captain)
  • 7. John Hodnett
  • 8. Alex Kendellen


  • 16. Chris Moore
  • 17. Kieran Ryan
  • 18. John Ryan
  • 19. Evan O’Connell
  • 20. Jack Daly
  • 21. Ruadhán Quinn
  • 22. Ethan Coughlan
  • 23. Fionn Gibbons
  • 24. Stephen Kiely
  • 25. Shay McCarthy 


  • 15. Jordan Larmour 
  • 14. Tommy O’Brien 
  • 13. Liam Turner 
  • 12. Ben Brownlee
  • 11. Rob Russell 
  • 10. Ciarán Frawley
  • 9. Cormac Foley 
  • 1. Jack Boyle 
  • 2. Lee Barron 
  • 3. Rory McGuire 
  • 4. Brian Deeny 
  • 5. Jason Jenkins 
  • 6. Max Deegan 
  • 7. Scott Penny (captain)
  • 8. James Culhane  


  • Gus McCarthy
  • Paddy McCarthy
  • Temi Lasisi 
  • Ross Molony 
  • Conor O’Tighearnaigh
  • Diarmuid Mangan 
  • Will Connors 
  • Luke McGrath
  • Sam Prendergast
  • Charlie Tector
  • Andrew Osborne
  • Jamie Osborne 
  • Aitzol King 
  • Chris Cosgrave 
Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel