First start for 21-year-old Birr prop, cap 100 for Molony and Ruddock captains Leinster in Wales

Leo Cullen has named his side to face Ospreys tomorrow, with Dan Leavy on the bench again.

Michael Milne (centre) makes his first start.
Michael Milne (centre) makes his first start.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

RHYS RUDDOCK WILL captain Leinster once again while Ross Molony wins cap number 100 and Michael Milne makes his first start, as Leo Cullen’s side face Ospreys across the water tomorrow in Pro14 action [KO 3pm, live on TG4 and Premier Sport].

Ruddock captains the eastern province for the third game in-a-row, and comes up against his father, Mike, in Wales, who is Osprey’s development director.

Molony becomes a Leinster centurion at the Liberty Stadium, starting at lock, with Dan Leavy again named on the bench having recently made his return 19 months after a horrific knee injury.

Cullen restores his faith in the backs, with the back three remaining the same. Jimmy O’Brien lines out at at full back, with Cian Kelleher on the right and Dave Kearney on the left. Tommy O’Brien and Rory O’Loughlin again form the half-back partnership with Luke McGrath and Harry Byrne at scrum-half and out-half respectively.

In the pack, Milne makes his first-ever start for the senior side after 11 games on the bench. The 21-year-old Birr loosehead prop, who is still in the Leinster Academy and having his debut in September 2019, joins James Tracy and Michael Bent in the front row, while Scott Fardy joins Molony in the second.

Meanwhile, Josh Murphy, Scott Penny and skipper Ruddock complete the pack.

Ospreys have also named their team, and you can see it in the tweet below.

LEINSTER TEAM (with caps in brackets)

15. Jimmy O’Brien (21)
14. Cian Kelleher (16)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (72)
12. Tommy O’Brien (6)
11. Dave Kearney (151)
10. Harry Byrne (13)
9. Luke McGrath (131)

1. Michael Milne (11)
2. James Tracy (113)
3. Michael Bent (144)
4. Ross Molony (99)
5. Scott Fardy (64)
6. Josh Murphy (35)
7. Scott Penny (16)
8. Rhys Ruddock (177) — captain

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


16. Dan Sheehan (2)
17. Peter Dooley (78)
18. Ciarán Parker (1)
19. Devin Toner (251)
20. Dan Leavy (65)
21. Hugh O’Sullivan (22)
22. David Hawkshaw (1)
23. Liam Turner (1).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel