Six changes to depleted Limerick side set to travel to Antrim

The Shannonsiders are without some key players due to UL and Na Piarsaigh commitments.

Calling the shots: Limerick boss John Kiely.
Calling the shots: Limerick boss John Kiely.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

LIMERICK HAVE NAMED their side to face Antrim on Sunday in their Division 1B National Hurling League encounter (throw-in 2pm, Cushendall).

The Shannonsiders — who are only carrying a squad of 22 with Na Piarsaigh in the All-Ireland club final, players contesting the Fitzgibbon Cup final and other injuries — have made six changes to the team that started in their 12-point win over Dublin last weekend.

Barry Hennessy, Richie McCarthy, Tom Condon, Colin Ryan, Barry O’Connell and Graeme Mulcahy all come in, while the UL contingent of Seán Finn, Tom Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty and Barry Murphy are ruled out due to the third level decider against DCU.

Elsewhere, Effin’s Nickie Quaid and Seamus Hickey of Murroe-Boher both drop to the bench.

Last week’s scoring star Aaron Gillane, who finished with 1-9, starts again at corner forward as Limerick remain unbeaten to date in 2018.

Their victory over the Sky Blues guaranteed a league quarter-final spot and also means that their final round game against current All-Ireland senior champions Galway will be a straight shootout for promotion.

Limerick team to face Antrim:

1) Barry Hennessy – Kilmallock

2) Tom Condon – Knockaderry
3) Richie McCarthy – Blackrock
4. Richie English – Doon

5) Diarmaid Byrnes – Patrickswell
6) Declan Hannon (Capt) – Adare
7) Dan Morrissey – Ahane

8) Paul Browne – Bruff
9) Colin Ryan – Pallasgreen

10) David Reidy – Dromin Athlacca
11) Cian Lynch – Patrickswell
12) Barry O’Connell – Kildimo-Pallaskenry

13) Aaron Gillane – Patrickswell
14) Seamus Flanagan – Feohanagh
15) Graeme Mulcahy – Kilmallock

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


16) Nicky Quaid – Effin
17) Darragh Fanning – Pallasgreen
18) Paddy O’Loughlin – Kilmallock
19) Oisin O’Reilly – Kilmallock
20) Andrew LaTouche – Cosgrove Monaleen
21) William O’Meara – Askeaton
22) Seamus Hickey – Murroe Boher

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘If you’re only involved to get something back for personal gain, you should just get the f**k out’

McGregor claims he offered to make UFC return against Frankie Edgar next weekend

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel