Lynch not part of Limerick's 36-man championship panel as Kiely shows his hand

The Shannonsiders are chasing a first Munster hurling crown since 2013.

Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

LIMERICK MANAGER JOHN Kiely has released his 36-man panel for the upcoming Munster SHC campaign, which starts against Tipperary on 20 May.

Six players from All-Ireland club finalists Na Piarsaigh have made the cut as Limerick chase a first provincial crown since 2013.

Two-time All-Ireland U21 winner Ronan Lynch is the highest-profile omission from the squad, although it’s unclear whether he opted out or has been omitted by Kiely.

Lynch’s Na Piarsaigh clubmates Alan Dempsey, Tommy Grimes and Conor Boylan are no longer part of the county panel either, but the city club still have the highest representation on the squad.

The panel includes 14 of last September’s All-Ireland U21 winning Limerick team, while seven players are U21 again this season.

Cian Hedderman, Daragh Fanning and Mikey Mackey have also been left out.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Limerick championship panel

1. Declan Hannon (Adare)
2. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
3. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
4. William O’Meara (Askeaton)
5. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
6. Paul Browne (Bruff)
7. Sean Finn (Bruff)
8. Richie English (Doon)
9. Barry Murphy (Doon)
10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
11. Pat Ryan (Doon)
12. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)
13. Nicky Quaid (Effin)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh)
15. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
16. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
17. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
18. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
19. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
20. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock)
21. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
22. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen)
23. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen)
24. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)
25. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
26. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
27. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
28. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
29. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)
30. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
31. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
32. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
33. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
34. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
35. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
36. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Emerging Kilkenny stars ‘have definitely brought a camaraderie back into the dressing room’ – Buckley

Kerry ladies manager ‘could not give 100%’ and steps down after difficult few weeks

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel