Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 25 January 2022

Limerick claim football league title glory and Wicklow book promotion with key win over Wexford

Antrim finished third after their seven-point success over Waterford today.

Limerick footballers (file photo) celebrated league promotion today.
Limerick footballers (file photo) celebrated league promotion today.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

LIMERICK WERE CROWNED Division 4 league champions for the third time in 11 seasons today while the Wicklow footballers are also celebrating promotion from the same tier.

There was plenty at stake entering the final day of action in Division 4 with Limerick getting the job done thanks to their 1-16 to 1-14 success away against Sligo in Markievicz Park. Manager Billy Lee saw his team atone for last Sunday’s disappointing loss to Wexford as they made amends to add to the county’s previous title wins in 2010 and 2013 at this level.

Hugh Bourke fired 1-3 for the winners while there was a good array of point-scorers elsewhere with Iain Corbett, Sean McSweeney, Killian Ryan, Darragh Treacy and goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan all contributing 0-2 apiece.

Limerick started excellently as they raced in front by 1-6 to 0-1 and then were ahead 1-11 to 0-6 by the interval. Sligo, who still had promotion hopes entering the game, powered back into contention with Pat Hughes netting in the second half. Red Óg Murphy and Sean Carradine weighed in with 0-4 apiece as they cut the gap to 1-13 to 1-10. 

Limerick steadied themselves with three points in a row to go ahead by six and a late Sligo rally could not alter the outcome.

It continues a good year for Limerick after January’s McGrath Cup final success and sets them up ahead for next Saturday’s Munster quarter-final against Waterford in Dungarvan.

iain-corbett-and-donal-osullivan-with-the-mcgrath-cup Iain Corbett and Donal O'Sullivan with the McGrath Cup back in January. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Wicklow saw off Wexford in that match which would decide which of the pair got promoted, the Garden County triumphing by 0-13 to 0-10.  


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Davy Burke’s team were ahead 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval and while Wexford drew level early in the second half, Wicklow took control once more. They went 0-13 to 0-7 clear at one juncture in the second half and could hold Wexford’s late charge. Goalkeeper Mark Jackman and forward Seanie Furlong shot 0-3 apiece for Wicklow while Ben Brosnan chipped in with 0-6 for Wexford.

Antrim saw off Waterford by 2-14 to 0-13 in a fixture that sparked plenty coverage during the week as there was uncertainty over whether it would go ahead. It finished with a seven-point success in Dundalk for the Ulster men but results elsewhere did not fall in their favour as they finished third to miss out on promotion.

Paddy Cunningham shot five first-half points for Antrim with Odhran Eastwood and James McAuley scoring their goals.

Division 4 Football League Results

  • Limerick 1-16 Sligo 1-14
  • Antrim 2-14 Waterford 0-13
  • Wexford 0-10 Wicklow 0-13

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel