Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Thursday 24 September 2020

Davy Fitzgerald's LIT advance to quarter-finals with 17-point victory over Garda College

Clare’s Peter Duggan hit 2-10 en route to victory in the Fitzgibbon Cup.

Davy Fitzgerald has guided Limerick IT to another Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final.
Davy Fitzgerald has guided Limerick IT to another Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Limerick IT 3-18
Garda College 1-7

John Fallon reports from Templetuohy

PETER DUGGAN WENT on a scoring spree as Davy Fitzgerald’s Limerick IT advanced to the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup.

They were always in control against a disappointing Garda College team in Templetuohy, and pulled away in the second-half.

Ten wides in the opening half meant that LIT only led by 0-7 to 1-2 at the interval, after Stephen Murray had given Garda College hope with a goal after eight minutes.

He reduced the margin just after the restart to suggest a close encounter might be on the cards in the second-half.

Peter Duggan and Ger Teehan Peter Duggan in action for Limerick IT in 2016. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

But Duggan took over and the Clare star struck for his opening goal after 36 minutes, with points quickly following from David Reidy, David Conroy and Oisin Kelly to lead by 1-11 to 1-3 with 22 minutes remaining.

Garda College never looked like getting in for the goals they needed to get back in contention.

Instead, it was another Clare star David Reidy who put further distance between the sides when he found the net to take a 2-15 to 1-4 lead into the closing quarter.

Garda College picked off a couple of points from Brian Murphy and Denis O’Connor but LIT just kept tacking on scores at the other end.

And they finished in style when Duggan blasted home his second goal from close range to send them into the quarter-finals with confidence.

Scorers for Limerick IT: Peter Duggan 2-10 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65)), David Reidy 1-1, David Conroy 0-2, Darren O’Connor 0-2, Oisin Kelly 0-1, Shane Gleeson 0-1, Willie Connors 0-1

Scorers for Garda College: Stephen Murray 1-2, Eoin Sheehan 0-2, Denis O’Connor 0-2, Nicky Cleere 0-1, Brian Murphy 0-1.

Limerick IT

1. Bryan O’Loughlin

18. Darren Moran
13. Jason McCarthy
17. James Quigley

12. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave
6. Sean Ryan
2. Jack Quaid

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. David Conroy
11. Willie Connors

7. Shane Gleeson
8. David Reidy
5. Diarmaid Byrnes

22. Ronan Murphy
15. Oisin Kelly
14. Peter Duggan


21. Darren O’Connell for Murphy (24)
20. Brendan O’Connor for Gleeson (46)
9. Robert Byrnes for Conroy (55)
27. Mark O’Keeffe for Kelly (57)
4. Eoin Quilty for Reidy (57)

Garda College

1. Seamus Murphy

2. Eoin Grant
3. Ciaran Wallace
4. Kieran Histon

5. Mark Heffernan
6. Brian Murphy
7. Liam Varley

8. Damien Donoghue
9. Kieran Russell

10. Michael J Carroll
11. Kevin Tarrant
12. Nicky Cleere

21. Eoin Sheehan
14. Denis O Connor
15. Stephen Murray


30. Brendan McSweeney for Varley (48)
17. Dwayne Sheehy for Histon (56)

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Galway’s Whelan hits two goals but Cooney’s winner puts champs Mary I into Fitzgibbon Cup last eight

3 big league clashes involving All-Ireland champions Dublin to be shown live on eir

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel