Waterford and Limerick have named their teams for tomorrow's league opener

Last year’s minor skipper makes his senior bow.

Kevin Moran captains Waterford against Limerick tomorrow.
Kevin Moran captains Waterford against Limerick tomorrow.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Updated at 10.05pm.

LIMERICK HURLING BOSS TJ Ryan has named 10 of the side that played in last season’s epic All-Ireland SHC semi-final defeat to Kilkenny in the team for this weekend’s league opener.

The Treaty take on Waterford under lights and in front of the Setanta cameras tomorrow evening at the Gaelic Grounds.

Cathal King, Cian Lynch, Stephen Walsh, David Reidy and Adrian Breen are the newcomers included. Lynch is the only debutant amongst them; he skippered the county’s minors to a championship decider last term.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)

3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4.Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher)

5. Donal O’Grady (Granagh-Ballingarry)

6. Wayne McNamara (Adare)

7. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)

8. Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh)

9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

10. Declan Hannon (Adare)

11. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)

12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

14. David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

Meanwhile, the Waterford team shows seven changes in personnel to the team that lost to Limerick in last month’s Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final.

One of those changes sees Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh coming in to the team to start at full-forward, while Kevin Moran will captain the Deise from right-half-forward.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)

4. Noel Connors (Passage)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

5. Tadhg Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)

6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)

9. Tom Devine (Modeligo)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

13. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)

14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

15. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

  • We’ll have live updates from both Gaelic Park and Páirc Uí Rinn, where Cork host Kilkenny, tomorrow night.

Additional reporting by Paul Dollery

Kilkenny star Jackie Tyrrell is in awe of the Irish Super Bowl blaggers

Kilkenny and Cork have named their teams for their league opener on Saturday

About the author:

Read next: