Dublin: 17°C Monday 15 August 2022

Byrnes inspires Limerick IT to narrow Fitzgibbon Cup victory over UCD

Davy Fitzgerald’s men earned a one-point win in Group A.

LIT manager Davy Fitzgerald (file photo).
LIT manager Davy Fitzgerald (file photo).
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Limerick IT 0-18
UCD 1-14

LIMERICK STAR DIARMAID Byrnes gave a towering display for LIT as they claimed a crucial one-point win over UCD in their Fitzgibbon Cup Group A clash at LIT.

He hit four points in the second-half as the ’05 and ’07 champions held off a late fight back.

James Maher shot a goal in added time to tie things up, but four minutes later Clare youngster Peter Duggan pointed to seal it.

LIT had played against the breeze in the first-half and despite going 0-5 to 0-1 down, they only trailed 0-8 to 0-6 at the break.

Joe Campion opened the scoring for the hosts, but the competition’s most successful side came roaring back. O’Rourke hit two as they went four up.

But Byrnes pointed a crucial free to stem the flow of points at the other end. Further scores from Campion and David Reidy ensured the Limerick college only trailed by two points at half-time.

UCD corner back Eoin Conroy hit the first point of the second-half to re-establish their lead and then the teams traded scores.

But LIT, who were 18-point winners over Maynooth in the opening round, had the greater experience with Byrnes and Reidy in midfield. And they dragged their side ahead.

Substitute Shane Gleeson put them three points clear with four minutes of normal time remaining. But Maher struck, and LIT required a late Duggan shot on the turn to win it.

Scorers for LIT: D Reidy 0-6 (0-5f), D Byrnes 0-6 (0-2f, 0-1 ’65), J Campion 0-3, M O’Malley 0-1, P Duggan 0-1, S Gleeson 0-1.

Scorers for UCD: J Maher 1-1, O O’Rourke 0-4 (0-3f), S Moran 0-3, C O’Shea 0-2 (0-1f), C O’Callagan 0-1, E Conroy 0-1, R King 0-1, T O’Leary 0-1.


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle, Clare)

2. Niall O’Connor (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare)
3. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford)
4. Cian Nolan (Smith O’Briens, Clare)

5. William Ryan (Clonakenny, Tipperary)
6. Cathal Barrett (Holycross/Ballycahill, Tipperary)
7. Oisin O’Brien (Clonara, Clare)

8. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick)
9. David Reidy (Eire Og Ennis, Clare)

10. Paul Killeen (Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry, Galway)
11. Peter Duggan (Clooney/Quinn, Clare)
12. Joe Campion (Borris/Kilcotton, Laois)

13. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
14. Niall Maher (Doon, Limerick)
15. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley, Clare)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

20. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe, Clare) for Killeen (28 mins)
18. Willie Connors (Kildangan, Tipperary) for Nolan (34)
22. Shane McGrath (Feakle, Clare) for Maher (52)


1. Darragh Holohan (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

2. Pat Hannon (St Mary’s Athenry, Galway)
3. Sean Murphy (Buffers Alley, Wexford)
4. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Éanna, Wexford)

5. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s, Dublin)
6. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala, Dublin)
7. Conor O’Shea (Clara, Kilkenny)

8. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin’s, Kilkenny)
9. Seán Moran (Cuala, Dublin)

10. James Maher (St Lachtain’s, Kilkenny)
11. Ciarán Prendergast (Clara, Kilkenny)
12. Colm Cronin (Cuala, Dublin)

13. Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill, Laois)
14. Oisín O’Rourke (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
15. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)

19. Padraic Guinan (Drumcullen, Offaly) for O’Connor (17 mins)
22. Tomas O’Leary (Buffers Alley, Wexford) for Prendergast (30)
25. Thomas Phelan (Conaghy, Kilkenny) for Cronin (30)
17. Conor Devitt (Naomh Eanna, Wexford) for Lawlor (47)
58. Jack Mullaney (Stradbally, Waterford) for Phelan (58, blood)

Referee: Diarmaid Kirwan (Cork).

Sadly, Bruce Springsteen won’t be the half-time entertainment for the Leinster quarter-finals

‘It’s hard to focus your eyes. You don’t feel well’: Kevin Downes’ concussion story

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next: