Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Sunday 11 April 2021

2019 League of Ireland winners set to face Northern Irish champions

The announcement was made by Fran Gavin today at the launch of the SSE Airtricity League season.

Dundalk captain Brian Gartland.
Dundalk captain Brian Gartland.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

THE WINNERS OF the League of Ireland Premier Division this year are to take on their counterparts from north of the border.

A two-legged tie between the top team in the SSE Airtricity League in 2019 and the 2018-19 Danske Bank Premiership champions will be played after the forthcoming League of Ireland campaign, which is due to conclude in October.

The announcement was made by FAI Competitions Director Fran Gavin this afternoon at the launch of the 2019 SSE Airtricity League season.

Adding that further details of the tie are to follow, Gavin stated that the second leg will be televised live by RTÉ. 

Dundalk, the reigning League of Ireland kingpins, are favourites to retain their title this year. The Lilywhites will begin their bid to do so at home to Sligo Rovers on Friday night.

Linfield lead the way in the current Danske Bank Premiership season, which is due to run until May. 

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel