Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO Louth's Padraig Rath and Adrian Reid lift the cup.
wee giants
Grimes the hero as Louth secure silverware with injury-time goal
The Division 4 trophy is going back to the Wee County tonight.

Louth 3-12
Antrim 1-14

CONOR GRIMES’ LATE strike sealed the Allianz League Division 4 title for a battle-hardened Louth with a four-point win over Antrim at Croke Park.

Derek Maguire and Jim McEneaney also hit the net for the Leinster side, who trailed by four at half-time, but it was Grimes’ late effort that secured the win.

Next up, Louth face Carlow in the Leinster preliminary round, while Antrim will also be full of confidence ahead of their meeting with Fermanagh with Tomás McCann scoring eight points on the day.

Antrim were 1-9 to 1-5 in front at half time after they out-muscled their opponents in the opening half despite falling behind through Maguire’s early goal.

McCann had given Antrim the lead with a point after just 15 seconds and Brian Neeson added to that but then Maguire struck when Grimes set him up.

Antrim took a 0-4 to 1-0 lead before Louth hit their stride and when Maguire slotted a point Louth were 1-3 to 0-4 in front.

But McCann began to find his range, and he drew them level in the 25th minute before Declan Byrne and Burns concluded Louth’s scoring for the half.

McCann hit a few crucial scores before the break as Antrim went in four points in front.

McCann added another point directly after half time but Louth hit three points, and as Antrim began to fire aimless efforts at the goal, Louth got back into the game — James Califf’s free in the 52nd minute put them just two behind.

McEneaney’s goal came before the hour and Grimes’s strike ended Antrim’s challenge in the 71st minute.

Scorers – Louth: D Maguire 1-2, J McEneaney 1-1 (0-1 sl), R Burns 0-4 (0-3f), C Grimes 1-0, D Byrne 0-3, J Califf 0-2 (0-2f). Antrim: T McCann 0-8 (0-6f), M Fitzpatrick 1-1, C Murray 0-2, B Neeson 0-1 (0-1f), P McBride 0-1, R Johnson 0-1.


1. Craig Lynch (Naomh Mairtin)

2. Padraig Rath (Dreadnots)
3. Patrick Reilly (St Bride’s)
4. Kevin Toner (St Patrick’s)

5. Derek Maguire (Dundalk Young Irelands)
6. Darren McMahon (St Mochta’s)
7. Eoghan Lafferty (St Patrick’s)

8. James Stewart (Dundalk Gaels)
9. James Califf (Dreadnots)

10. Declan Byrne (St Mochta’s)
11. Jim McEneaney (Geraldines)
12. Tommy Durnin (Westerns)

13. Conal McKeever (Clan na Gael)
14. Conor Grimes (Glen Emmets)
15. Ryan Burns (Hunterstown Rovers)

18. John Bingham (Ardee St Mary’s) for Toner (13)
17. Anthony Williams (Dreadnots) for Bingham (37, black card)
21. Ruairi Moore (O’Raghallaighs) for McMahon (44)
22. Gerard McSorley (Dundalk Gaels) for McEneaney (51-56, blood)
22. McSorley for Burns (75).


1. Chris Kerr (St Gall’s)

2. Niall Delargy (Casements)
3. Conor Burke (St Gall’s)
4. Richard Johnson (Creggan)

5. Kevin O’Boyle (Cargin)
6. Martin Johnson (Creggan)
7. James Laverty (Cargin)

8. Niall McKeever (Casements)
14. Michael McCann (Cargin)

12. Conor Murray (Lamh Dhearg)
10. Matthew Fitzpatrick (St John’s)
15. Tomás McCann (Cargin)

13. Brian Neeson (St John’s)
11. Kevin Niblock (St Gall’s)
9. John Carron (Cargin)

26. Ryan Murray (Lamh Dhearg) for Neeson (48)
22. Patrick McBride (St John’s) for Carron (53)
23. Dermott McAleese (Casements) for Fitzpatrick (58)
21. Mark Sweeney (St Jude’s) for Laverty (63)
20. Justin Crozier (Cargin) for Burke (67).

Referee: Jerome Henry (Mayo).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kerry’s need, the Cluxton effect and more National Football League final talking points

Staunton’s late score snatches dramatic semi-final win for Mayo