This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 19 March, 2019

Higgins to make 125th Mayo appearance as Rochford names team for All-Ireland final replay

Cillian O’Connor will captain the team against Dublin.

It's a landmark game for Mayo's Keith Higgins tomorrow.
It's a landmark game for Mayo's Keith Higgins tomorrow.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

STEPHEN ROCHFORD HAS named his Mayo team to start for tomorrow’s All-Ireland final replay against Dublin.

And the Mayo boss has selected an unchanged side which means that it will be a landmark game for defender Keith Higgins, as he makes his 125th appearance for the county.

Captain Cillian O’Connor, who hit the leveling point in the drawn match, was a slight injury concern after that game, but is selected at left corner-forward.

Ten years on from Mayo’s All-Ireland final loss to Kerry, there are three survivors from that game picked to start in David Clarke,Higgins and Andy Moran.

Alan Dillon and Barry Moran, both likely to be substitutes here, also saw game time in that 2006 clash.

Of course the prospect of late pre-match changes from Mayo is a live one. Before Mayo’s quarter-final with Tyrone, they made two alterations.

Tweet by @Mayo GAA Source: Mayo GAA/Twitter

Prior to the semi-final with Tipperary, Barry Moran was drafted in as a late replacement for Kevin Keane. For the drawn game with Dublin, Mayo started as selected.

Will there be alterations before throw-in tomorrow at 5pm? Time will tell.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber – captain)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

All-Ireland battles with Mayo against the Dubs to playing club football in the capital

The progress of Tipperary’s Callanan into the most lethal inside forward in hurling

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: