This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Monday 13 July, 2020

Mayo claim All-Ireland U21 title with clinical 5-goal defeat of Cork

Liam Irwin scored two goals as the westerners won their first title at this age level since 2006.

Mayo 5-7
Cork 1-13

LIAM IRWIN CONCLUDED Mayo’s amazing scoring spree with their fifth goal as they claimed their first EirGrid All-Ireland U21 title in a decade.

Setphen Coen Stephen Coen lifts the trophy. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Backed by the All-Ireland minor winning side from 2013, Michael Solan’s side had to keep their composure after Cork fought back to tie the game in the second-half.

But it was Irwin and Conor Loftus who both bagged two goals, and Diarmuid O’Connor, who also hit the net, that made the difference on the day.

Sean White was shown a black card in the second-half for Cork but they recovered, Peter Kelleher got their goal and Brian Coakley tied things up with his free in the 54th minute, but they couldn’t build on that.

Cork played against the breeze in the first half but they trailed by 2-5 to 0-7 at half-time after a sensational ending to the first half where O’Connor and Irwin both shot the net as Mayo got on top.

Ronan O'Toole with Stephen Coen Ronan O'Toole and Stephen Coen battle for possession. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Sean O’Donoghue kicked a point for Cork on the restart but Loftus slotted Mayo’s third goal in the 37th minute as they took a firm grip on proceedings.

Mayo had to come from behind to beat Roscommon and Dublin previous to this but now they held a 3-6 to 0-10 lead.

But Kelleher struck in the 46th minute when he latched onto an O’Donoghue ’45 to punch the ball to the net. When Cork drew level it looked like they would win the game from there.

But somehow Mayo found it within them to fight back again, just like they did against Dublin.

This time Loftus intercepted an Anthony Casey kick-out to clinically fire home, and Irwin got the final goal to seal victory and the silverware for Mayo.

Michael Solan celebrates at the final whistle Michael Solan celebrates at the final whistle. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Mayo scorers: L Irwin 2-2 (1f, 1’45), C Loftus 2-2 (0-2f), D O’Connor 1-0, M Plunkett 0-2, M Ruane 0-1.

Cork scorers: B Coakley 0-5 (0-3f), S O’Donoghue 0-4 (3f, 1’45), P Kelleher 1-0, R Harkin 0-2, S Powter 0-1, R O’Toole 0-1, M Hurley 0-1.


1. Mattie Flanagan (Balla)

2. Eoin O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
3. Seamus Cunniffe (Ballaghderreen)
4. David Kenny (Aghamore)

7. Shairoze Akram (Ballaghderreen)
6. Michael Hall (Breaffy)
22. James Kelly (Belmullet)

8. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
9. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)
12. Diarmauid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Liam Irwin (Breaffy)
15. Fionan Duffy (Crossmolina)
5. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)


17. James Carr (Ardagh) for Duffy (43)
19. Barry Duffy (Balla) for Kelly (57)
21. Morgan Lyons (Ballyhaunis) for Plunkett (57)

Mayo players celebrate at the end of the game Mayo players celebrate their win. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

2. Michael Mc Sweeney (Newcestown)
3. John Mullins (Eire Og)
7. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

18. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys)
6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)

14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
20. Ronan O’Toole (Eire Og)

8. Sean White (Clonakilty)
11. Seán Powter (Douglas)
12. Ryan Harkin (Mallow)

13. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
10. Seán O Donoghue (Inniscarra)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)


9. Sean O Leary (Bantry Blues) for O’Toole (38)
22. Dan O Duinin (Cill Na Martra) for White (46, black)
19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig) for Harkin (53)
21. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbars) for Hurley (58)
4. Dylan Quinn (St Finbarrs) for McSweeney (62)

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

O’Brien leads Limerick to league glory, late free salvages draw for Waterford with Tipp

Donnelly and McSorley inspire Armagh to league final win over Roscommon

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: