Dublin: 17°C Sunday 26 June 2022

Here are the draws for this year's Dublin and Mayo senior football championships

The Dublin hurling draw was also made tonight.

Updated Jun 14th 2021, 10:19 PM

TITLE HOLDERS BALLYMUN Kickhams and Knockmore discovered their groups as they prepare to defend their titles following tonight’s draw for the Dublin and Mayo senior football championships.

knockmore-players-celebrate Knockmore players celebrating last year's Mayo senior final win. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Ballymun Kickhams are pitted in Group 3 in Dublin along with 2019 finalists Thomas Davis, and the pair of Clontarf and Skerries Harps.

The standout group sees 2017 champions St Vincent’s, 2018 winners Kilmacud Crokes and 2016 finalists Castleknock all set to square off, along with Ballinteer St John’s.

ballymun-kickhams-celebrate-with-the-trophy Ballymun Kickhams celebrate last year's Dublin senior final victory. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Former kingpins Castlebar Mitchels have been pitted in the strongest group in the Mayo senior football championship. The Castlebar club, who won three-in-a-row between 2015 and 2017, will meet last year’s semi-finalists Westport, the 2019 beaten finalists Ballaghaderreen and Balla in Group 3.

Last year’s semi-finalists Ballina Stephenites will take on 2018 and 2019 champions Ballintubber in Group 1.

In hurling in Dublin, the draw will see Cuala, the champions for the last two years, will take on Kilmacud Crokes and St Brigid’s, who they have beaten in finals in recent times.

Here are the draws in full:

2021 Dublin senior 1 football championship

Group 1

  • Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Raheny, Na Fianna, Whitehall Colmcille.

Group 2

  • Kilmacud Crokse, Castleknock, St Vincents, Ballinteer St Johns.

Group 3

  • Ballymun Kickhams, Thomas Davis, Clontarf, Skerries Harps.

Group 4

  • St Judes, Lucan Sarsfields, Round Towers Lusk, St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh.

2021 Dublin senior A hurling championship

Group 1

  • Na Fianna, Whitehall Colmcille, Ballinteer St Johns, Craobh Chiaráin.

Group 2

  • Lucan Sarsfields, Setanta, St Judes,  St Vincents.

Group 3

  • Cuala, Kilmacud Crokes, Thomas Davis, St Brigids.

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

Group 4

  • Ballyboden St-Enda’s, St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh, Faughs, Scoil Uí Chonaill.

2021 Mayo senior football championship

Group 1

  • Ballintubber, Ballina Stephenites, Claremorris, Davitts.

Group 2

  • Knockmore, Aghamore, Charlestown Sarsfields, Belmullet.

Group 3

  • Balla, Castlebar Mitchels, Westport, Ballaghaderreen.

Group 4

  • Garrymore, Kiltane, Breaffy, The Neale

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel