Dublin: 15°C Sunday 26 June 2022

Cillian O'Connor starts as Mayo and Galway name teams for Castlebar clash

Rob Hennelly, Paddy Durcan and Jordan Flynn were not included in the matchday 26.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Updated Apr 22nd 2022, 10:48 PM

CILLIAN O’CONNOR has been named to start for Mayo this Sunday against Galway as James Horan makes four changes from the team that lost the Allianz League final. 

Mayo welcome their old rivals to McHale Park on Sunday for the Connacht SFC quarter-final (throw-in 4.00pm, live on RTE2). 

Oisin Mullin and Eoghan McLaughlin return in defence. Jordan Flynn’s injury sees him miss out. Aidan O’Shea returns to midfield where he will partner Matthew Ruane. Kevin McLaughlin replaces Jack Carney in a half-forward line that also consists of Ryan O’Donoghue and Conor Loftus.

Cillian O’Connor makes his first start since he suffered an Achilles tendon injury last year. He is named in an inside line alongside James Carr and Jason Doherty. Paddy Durcan and Rob Hennelly were not named in the 26-man matchday panel. 

Galway also named their team on Friday night with their league top scorer Shane Walsh, who missed the Division 2 final defeat to Roscommon, returning to Pádraic Joyce’s full-forward line.



1. Rory Byrne (Castlebar Mitchels) 

2. Lee Keegan (Westport) 3. Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine) 4. Padraig O’Hora (Ballina Stephenites)

5. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), 6. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber) 7. Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport)

8. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), 9. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore) 11. Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet) 12. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)

13. James Carr (Ardagh) 14. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), 15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber) 


16. Colm Reape (Knockmore)

17. Enda Hession (Garrymore)

18. Rory Brickenden (Westport)

19. David McBrien (Ballaghadereen)

20. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy) 

21. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)

22. Darren McHale (Knockmore)

23. Aiden Orme (Knockmore)

24. Darren Coen (Hollymount Carramore)

25. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber) 

26. Jack Carney (Kilmeena) 


1. Connor Gleeson (Dún Mhór Mhic Eil)

2. Liam Silke (Corafinne)

3. Seán Kelly (C) (Maigh Cuilinn)

4. Jack Glynn (Baile Clár na Gaillimhe)

5. Dylan McHugh (Corafinne)

6. John Daly (An Creagán/Maigh Locha)

7. Kieran Molloy (Corafinne)

8. Paul Conroy (Naomh Séamus)

9. Matthew Tierney (Uachtar Ard)

10. Finian Ó Laoí (An Spidéal)

11. Niall Daly (Cill Chonla)

12. Johnny Heaney (Cill Ainnin)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

13. Robert Finnerty (Bothar na Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach)

14. Damien Comer (Anach Cuain)

15. Shane Walsh (Cill Choirín)


16. James Keane (CLB Bhearna)

17. Johnny McGrath (Cathair Loisgreain)

18. Cillian McDaid (Muine Mheá/Mainistir)

19. Billy Mannion (An Creagán/Maigh Locha)

20. Tony Gill (Corafinne)

21. Patrick Kelly (An Creagán/Maigh Locha)

22. Paul Kelly (Maigh Cuilinn)

23. Owen Gallagher (Maigh Cuilinn)

24. Cormac McWalter (Realta Thuama)

25. Dessie Conneely (Maigh Cuilinn)

26. Tomo Culhane (Bothar na Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach)

- Updated at 22:48 with Galway’s team

About the author:

Maurice Brosnan

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel