Mayo make two changes for Kildare showdown at Croke Park

Cork, meanwhile, have named an unchanged side to face Limerick.

Mayo manager James Horan.
Mayo manager James Horan.
Image: Tom Maher/INPHO

Updated Jun 10th 2022, 9:35 PM

MAYO HAVE MADE two changes to the side that will take on Kildare in their Round 2 All-Ireland qualifier at Croke Park on Saturday evening [Throw-in, 6pm].

Following their narrow victory over Monaghan, James Horan has drafted in Conor Loftus and Jason Doherty into the Mayo half-forward line as Bryan Walsh and Aidan Orme make way.

Elsewhere, the team remains unchanged, with Rob Hennelly starting in his usual position between the sticks while Lee Keegan Oisín Mullin and Enda Hession make up the full-back line.

Aidan O’Shea and Matthew Ruane partner up at midfield while Cillian O’Connor slots in at corner forward.

Meanwhile, Cork have named an unchanged side for their qualifier clash against Limerick.

The Rebels were four-point winners over Louth last time out, and the same 15 start against Limerick at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday [throw-in 1.30pm].

Mayo (v Kildare)

1. Robert Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Lee Keegan (Westport), 3. Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), 4. Enda Hession (Garrymore)

5. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), 6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore), 7. Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport)

8. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), 9. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)

10. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber), 11. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), 12. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)

13. James Carr (Ardagh), 14. Jack Carney (Kilmeena), 15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)

Cork (v Limerick)

1. Christopher Kelly (Éire Óg)

2. Sean Powter (Douglas), 3. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty), 4. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

5. John Cooper (Éire Óg), 6. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven), 7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s), 9. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)

10. Daniel Dineen (Cill na Martra), 11. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree), 12. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

13. Steven Sherlock (St Finbarr’s), 14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven – captain), 15. Cathail O’Mahony (Mitchelstown)

See subs and panel here>

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel