Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 18 May 2021

Goals prove key as Mayo defeat Tipp to reach third All-Ireland final place in five years

The green flags raised by Jason Doherty and Conor O’Shea were crucial.

Tipperary's Michael Quinlivan in action against Mayo's Lee Keegan.
Tipperary's Michael Quinlivan in action against Mayo's Lee Keegan.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Mayo 2-13
Tipperary 0-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

FOR THE THIRD time in five seasons, Mayo have booked a date in a September All-Ireland senior final and even if there were some nervy moments before they negotiated a way past Tipperary in this afternoon’s semi-final, the final whistle signalled job done for Stephen Rochford’s side.

There were 53,212 present in Croke Park when Tipperary’s determined challenge and breakthrough season were finally halted in the 64th minute.

Mayo were clinging to a three-point advantage – 1-12 to 0-12 – when they grabbed a critical second goal. A substitute created it in Evan Regan and a substitute scored it in Conor O’Shea. But there was an element of fortune to it as Regan sized up a point attempt, slipped when kicking and the ball rolled into the path of O’Shea near goal where he prodded a shot past Tipperary goalkeeper Evan Comerford.

It was a blow Tipperary could not recover from after a terrific and gutsy second-half display that saw them cut a 1-10 to 0-7 interval deficit to just two points – 1-11 to 0-12 – by the 47th minute.

But a few rushed shots saw them miss the chance to further erase Mayo’s advantage and Colm Boyle nailed a crucial point for the Connacht side in the 55th minute. They were able to keep Tipperary at arm’s distance and O’Shea goal wrapped up their win.

But it was Tipperary who made a splendid start  to this game. The assured freetaking of Michael Quinlivan and good play by Conor Sweeney helped them go in front 0-6 to 0-3 after 24 minutes.

It was all the more impressive considering they lost defensive lynchpin Robbie Kiely to a black card in the 8th minute of the game.

However Mayo turned the screw before half-time as they outscored Tipperary 1-7 to 0-1. The goal arrived in the 27th minute when Tipperary lost possession as Colm O’Shaughnessy’s pass was intercepted, Keith Higgins bombed forward and timed his pass perfectly for Jason Doherty to plant the ball in the net.

Andy Moran’s point kicking was a delight during that time frame for Mayo and they looked in control with an interval advantage of 1-10 to 0-7.

Tipperary refused to yield after the break though. Kevin O’Halloran and Diarmuid O’Connor traded early points before Tipperary hit four on the bounce courtesy of Bill Maher and Quinlivan (3).

Yet that was as close as Tipperary got and the concession of the goal was a blow they could not absorb. Tipperary were reduced to 14 men when Maher was sent-off for an off-the-ball incident and Mayo successfully close out the game to advance to the decider on 18 September.

Aidan O'Shea and Peter Acheson Peter Acheson in action today for Tipperary against Mayo's Aidan O'Shea. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Mayo: Andy Moran 0-4, Jason Doherty, Conor O’Shea 1-0 each, Cillian O’Connor 0-3 (0-3f), Diarmuid O’Connor 0-2, Aidan O’Shea, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Kevin McLoughlin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Quinlivan 0-7 (0-7f), Conor Sweeney 0-3 (0-1f), Kevin O’Halloran 0-2 (0-1f), Bill Maher, Philip Austin 0-1 each.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
24. Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels)

12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber – captain)


18. Tom Parsons (Charlestown) for Seamus O’Shea (52)
23. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy) for Doherty (58)
20. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites) for Moran (62)
17. Chris Barrett (Belmullet) for Boyle (67)
22. Alan Dillon (Ballintubber) for McLoughlin (68)
26. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for Cillian O’Connor (71)


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
3. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
4. Ciarán Mc Donald (Aherlow)

5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers – captain)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
14. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)


18. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers) for Kiely (black card) (8)
17. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers) for Leahy (31)
26. Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle) for O’Shaughnessy (56)
22. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for O’Halloran (66)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Impressive Galway book All-Ireland minor final place as they see off Donegal

Mixed injury news for Galway and Waterford seniors before All-Ireland U21 final

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: