Colm Cavanagh of Tyrone and Jason Gibbons of Mayo INPHO/Presseye/Darren Kidd
Off the Mark

McCurry strikes two goals as Tyrone condemn Mayo to defeat in Omagh

Mickey Harte saw his side claim their first victory in Division 1 of the Allianz football league today.

Tyrone 2-15
Mayo 0-15

TYRONE PICKED UP their first victory in Division 1 of the Allianz football league in Healy Park in Omagh this afternoon and condemned Mayo to their second successive loss.

Two goals from Darren McCurry were central to Tyrone’s success as they bounced back from last week’s draw against Derry while Mattie Donnelly was also hugely influential as he notched 0-5 from play.

Mayo lost out to Kildare last week away from home and again got no luck on their travels this afternoon as Tyrone exacted revenge after last August’s All-Ireland semi-final defeat.

Tyrone got off to an excellent start as they lead 0-6 to 0-2 after 20 minutes before McCurry pounced for his first goal. Adam Gallagher, who kicked 0-9 overall, helped Mayo fight back into contention but they still trailed by six points at the break, 1-9 to 0-6.

Mayo enjoyed a revival after the break and were only two points adrift, 1-11 to 0-12, midway through the second period. But Tyrone upped the ante again with McCurry’s second goal of the day proving the crucial score when it arrived seven minutes from time.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 2-4 (0-1f), Mattie Donnelly 0-5, Ciaran McGinley 0-2, Niall Morgan (0-1f), Peter Harte, Ronan O’Neill (0-1f), Conor McAliskey.

Scorers for Mayo: Adam Gallagher 0-9 (0-6f), Kevin McLoughlin 0-2, Lee Keegan, Cathal Carolan, Keith Higgins, Andy Moran, Brian Gallagher 0-1 each.

TYRONE: N Morgan, A McCrory, C Clarke, B Tierney, C McGinley, P Harte, T McCann, C Cavanagh, C Grugan, E McKenna, S McGuigan, P Hughes, D McCurry, M Donnelly, R O’Neill.

Subs: C McAliskey for Hughes (half-time), S Cavanagh for McKenna (50), Mark Donnelly for McGuigan (50), D Carlin for Tierney for Tierney (58), P McNeice for McCurry (71)

MAYO: R Hennelly, K Keane, G Cafferkey, C Boyle, L Keegan, S McHale, D Drake, A O’Shea, J Gibbons, C Carolina, K Higgins, A Gallagher, K McLoughlin, A Moran, D O’Connor.

Subs: B Harrison for Boyle (half-time), B Gallagher for O’Connor (half-time), M Conroy for Carolan (half-time), J Doherty for Cafferkey (58), A Freeman for Keegan (65)

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)

Dublin too good for determined Westmeath side