Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 26 January 2021

The All-Ireland minor hurling and football championships are getting the All-Stars treatment

The standout performers in both codes will be recognised on the Minor Hurling and Football Teams of the Year.

Image: Stephen McCarthy/SPORTSFILE

THE ALL-STAR awards are one of the highlights of the inter-county off-season and now they’re coming into the minor football and hurling championships.

All-Ireland minor championships sponsors Electric Ireland announced today that 2017 will be the inaugural year of the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards.

The 15 best performers in each position from the entire season, across provincial and All-Ireland series, will be chosen by a combination of a four-man awards selection panel and a public vote on social media.

The selection panel consists of Clare selector Donal Og Cusack, Armagh legend Oisin McConville, All-Ireland winning Cuala boss Mattie Kenny and Meath boss Andy McEntee.

“We will continue to tell the stories of these exceptionally talented young hurlers and footballers and we will help to recognise their supreme effort through initiatives like the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards that we have announced today,” Electric Ireland general manager Paul Stapleton said in a statement today.

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards to recognise Major Stars of 2017 Source: Stephen McCarthy/SPORTSFILE

“These annual awards are a big part of every sport and it is only fitting that the minor stars are given the opportunity to shine on what is a major moment in their young sporting lives.”

Electric Ireland also confirmed a five-year extension on its sponsorship of the All-Ireland minor football and hurling championship.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

3 attractive double-headers in store as GAA announce details for Allianz Hurling Division 1 quarter-finals

‘It’s liberating’ – Tipp’s All-Ireland winning captain Maher on handing over the role

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: