Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Sunday 18 April 2021

McCarthy promoted to Monaghan starting team while Hughes misses out

Kildare and Armagh have also named their teams.

MALACHY O’ROURKE HAS named the Monaghan team to face Waterford in tomorrow’s round 2 qualifier, with Conor McCarthy the big addition to their starting line-up.

Conor McCarthy Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kieran Hughes likely has an injury as he hasn’t made the 26-man panel, while Dessie Ward drops to the bench. Into the starting XV come McCarthy and Dermot Malone.

The Kildare team to play Longford has also been named, with Keith Cribbin and Neil Flynn coming into the team in place of Paddy Brophy and David Slattery.

Finally tonight, Armagh boss Kieran McGeeney released his starting team to play Sligo.

Monaghan (vs Waterford)

1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Kieran Duffy (Latton)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Vinny Corey (Clontibret)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)

8. Niall Kearns (Seán McDermotts)
9. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)

10. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
11. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney Faughs)
12. Fintan Kelly (Clones)

13. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
14. Jack McCarron (Currin)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret)

Kildare (vs Longford)

1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. James Murray (Moorefield)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13. Neil Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Niall Kelly (Athy)

Armagh (vs Sligo)

1. Blaine Hughes (Carrickcruppen)

2. Patrick Burns (Forkhill)
3. Aaron McKay (Dromintee)
4. Gregory Mc Cabe (Sean O’Neill’s)

5. Mark Shields (Whitecross)
6. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore)
7. Aidan Forker (Maghery)

8. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
9. Connaire Mackin (Sean O’Neills)

10. Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab)
11. Jemar Hall (Forkhill)
12. Niall Grimley (Na Madain)

13. Ryan McShane (Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha)
14. Andrew Murnin (St. Pauls)
15. Oisín Mac Íomhair (Piarsaigh Eanach Mór)

‘We all go together’ – The Sydney GAA club leading the way Down Under

Laois boss Sugrue following in the footsteps of Kerry giants Micko and Páidí

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel