Six Nations-winning trio return for Munster's visit to Edinburgh

Paul O’Connell, Conor Murray and captain Peter O’Mahony are back in the starting XV.

MUNSTER HEAD COACH Anthony Foley has recalled Ireland’s Six Nations heroes Paul O’Connell, Peter O’Mahony and Conor Murray to his team to face Edinburgh in the Guinness Pro12 tomorrow [KO 19.30, TG4].

The province were not in European action last weekend, meaning the international trio were unable to make their provincial returns until now.

Paul O'Connell POC is back for Munster. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

O’Connell, O’Mahony and Murray add international class to a strong Munster team that travels to Murrayfield aiming to improve their current position of third in the league as they target a home semi-final.

Denis Hurley and Andrew Smith continue in the midfield for Foley’s side, while O’Mahony forms a powerful back row with Ireland teammate Tommy O’Donnell and South African CJ Stander.

Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha have been introduced to the front row, while Duncan Casey also comes into the starting team.

Donnacha Ryan has been included on Munster’s bench alongside JJ Hanrahan, James Cronin and Ronan O’Mahony.


15. Felix Jones
14. Keith Earls
13. Andrew Smith
12. Denis Hurley
11. Simon Zebo
10. Ian Keatley
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Duncan Casey
3. BJ Botha
4. Billy Holland
5. Paul O’Connell
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. CJ Stander


16. Eusebio Guinazu
17. James Cronin
18. Stephen Archer
19. Donnacha Ryan
20. Dave O’Callaghan
21. Duncan Williams
22. JJ Hanrahan
23. Ronan O’Mahony


15. Greig Tonks
14. Dougie Fife
13. Phil Burleigh
12. Andries Strauss
11. Tim Visser
10. Tom Heathcote
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's exclusive analysis on the URC interpros and Champions Cup clashes this December

Become a Member

1. Alasdair Dickinson
2. Ross Ford (captain)
3. WP Nel
4. Anton Bresler
5. Ben Toolis
6. Roddy Grant
7. Hamish Watson
8. Dave Denton


16. Stuart McInally
17. Grant Shiels
18. John Andress
19. Fraser McKenzie
20. Tomas Leonardi
21. Nathan Fowles
22. Sam Beard
23. Tom Brown

Referee: Ian Davies [Wales].

Ex-Leinster man Sexton got pranked by his Super Rugby teammates

BOD explains why that final penalty call against Bath was in Leinster’s favour

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: