# RIP Axel
Stander to wear number 24 as Munster retire 8 jersey for tomorrow
Peter O’Mahony leads the team at Thomond Park tomorrow.

Updated 4.35pm

MUNSTER HAVE NAMED a full-strength team for what will be an emotional Champions Cup clash with Glasgow at Thomond Park tomorrow [KO 1pm, Sky Sports 3].

In a touch of class from the province, Anthony Foley’s famous number eight jersey will be retired for tomorrow’s game, with CJ Stander instead wearing number 24.

Keith Earls has been recalled to the XV after recovering from concussion in the only change to the XV named to face Racing 92 last weekend.

Munster team huddle during training Cathal Noonan / INPHO Munster will play in front of a full Thomond Park tomorrow. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

The Munster team face a huge emotional mental tomorrow, with the Glasgow clash taking place just over 24 hours after the funeral of Munster legend Anthony Foley.

The Munster squad and management all attended this afternoon’s funeral mass in Killaloe, but director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has been able to name a full-strength team led by captain Peter O’Mahony.

A number of tributes will be paid to Foley before tomorrow’s game in Limerick, including a guard of honour formed by members of Shannon RFC and St. Munchin’s College, both of whom Foley starred for.

A sell-out crowd of 25,600 should make it an incredible occasion in Thomond Park.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Jaco Taute
12. Rory Scannell
11. Keith Earls
10. Tyler Bleyendaal
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Donnacha Ryan
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Tommy O’Donnell
24. CJ Stander


16. Duncan Casey
17. Brian Scott
18. Stephen Archer
19. Robin Copeland
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Duncan Williams
22. Ian Keatley
23. Ronan O’Mahony


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Sean Lamont
13. Alex Dunbar
12. Sam Johnson
11. Rory Hughes
10. Finn Russell
9. Henry Pyrgos

1. Gordon Reid
2. Fraser Brown
3. Zander Fagerson
4. Tim Swinson
5. Jonny Gray
6. Rob Harley
7. Ryan Wilson
8. Josh Strauss


16. Pat MacArthur
17. Alex Allan
18. Sila Puafisi
19. Lewis Wynne
20. Simone Favaro
21. Ali Price
22. Mark Bennett
23. Peter Murchie

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Former Ireland captain Joy Neville made European rugby history last night

Tomás O’Leary on Montpellier bench for Leinster’s Champions Cup visit

Your Voice
Readers Comments