Anthony Foley shuffles his pack after taxing European double-header

Things don’t get any easier for Munster as they travel to Scotstoun tomorrow in the Pro12.

Foley has made eight changes to his side.
Foley has made eight changes to his side.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

AFTER SLIPPING TO back-to-back Champions Cup defeats to Clermont, Munster’s focus reverts back to domestic matters on Saturday as they look to consolidate their position at the top of the Pro12 when they travel to Glasgow.

Such is the demanding schedule at this time of year, there is no let-up as the trip to Scotstoun, and a clash with an in-form Glasgow, marks the start of another defining set of fixtures over the Christmas and New Year period.

Unsurprisingly, Anthony Foley has shuffled his pack and made eight changes to the side that snatched a losing bonus point at the death in France last week.

Ian Keatley, who kicked that penalty at the Stade Marcel-Michelin, is afforded a rest as he’s dropped down to the bench along with Felix Jones and Donncha O’Callaghan.

Up front, there are five changes with Kevin O’Byrne and Stephen Archer making up the front row alongside John Ryan. Paul O’Connell retains his place, as does captain Peter O’Mahony.

The uncertainty surrounding the future of JJ Hanrahan has been the talking point in recent weeks but the worth of the utility back is highlighted once again with Hanrahan switching to out-half to partner Conor Murray.

Glasgow are just two points adrift of Munster at the summit of the Pro12 standings and the Scots will provide a stern test for the Irish province still licking their wounds from a potentially detrimental fortnight.

Gregor Townsend’s side are unbeaten at home this term and although, like Munster, they lost both games to French opposition in Europe, they’ll be determined to return to winning ways.

The game kicks-off at 2.40pm and is live on Sky Sports.


15. Johne Murphy

14. Andrew Conway

13. Pat Howard

12. Denis Hurley

11. Simon Zebo

10. JJ Hanrahan

9. Conor Murray

1. John Ryan

2. Kevin O’Byrne

3. Stephen Archer

4. Billy Holland

5. Paul O’Connell

6. Peter O’Mahony (capt)

Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's exclusive analysis on the URC interpros and Champions Cup clashes this December

Become a Member

7. Sean Dougall

8. Robin Copeland


16. Niall Scannell

17. Eusebio Guinazu

18. BJ Botha

19. Donncha O’Callaghan

20. Dave O’Callaghan

21. Duncan Williams

22. Ian Keatley

23. Felix Jones

‘Huge amount of positivity’ in Leinster squad as Connacht come to town

If Adam Jones ever tries to give you drop goal advice, you run, you run far away

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: