This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 7 July, 2020

O’Leary and Burrows secure gold in Weymouth

There was also a bronze for Annalise Murphy while Ryan Seaton and Matt McGovern also moved up the overall rankings.

Murphy also finished third in the 2011 Sail for Gold Regatta.
Murphy also finished third in the 2011 Sail for Gold Regatta.


ANNALISE MURPHY SECURED the bronze medal in the Laser Radial class at the Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta in Weymouth earlier today.

Murphy jumped from fifth to third overall on the leaderboard following her performace, thus enabling her to repeat her bronze medal success in the 2011 Sail for Gold Regatta.

Speaking following Murphy’s success, ISA Performance Director James O’Callaghan said: “This is a fantastic result from Annalise. She was perfectly focused during the medal race and she delivered the goods.”

Since delivering, Murphy has been joined on the podium by Peter O’Leary and David Burrows. The pair began the day in third place overall, but a third place finish in today was enough to see them overhaul the top two.

Earlier this afternoon Ryan Seaton & Matt McGovern finished 5th in medal race of the 49er class. Enough to push them up from 10th to seventh overall.

Weymouth will be sailing’s venue at Olympic Games later this summer.

-Additional reporting by Sean Farrell

Read: Eucharistic Congress abandons plans to screen Euro 2012 games for pilgrims>

Read: Williams’ Maldonado hails change of mentality>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: