Ronan Lynch helps himself to 15 points as Na Piarsaigh book 4th Munster final since 2011

The Limerick champions will face Waterford’s Ballygunner in a repeat of the 2015 decider.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Na Piarsaigh 2-26

Blackrock 0-10

A RETURN OF 15 points from Limerick’s All Ireland U21 winner Ronan Lynch steered Na Piarsaigh into yet another Munster club SHC final.

The Limerick champions will face Waterford’s Ballygunner in the 19 November final in what will be a repeat of the 2015 decider.

It will be a fourth final appearance for Na Piarsaigh, who will bid to add to their title win of 2011, ‘13 and ‘15.

They did of course also win All Ireland honours in March 2016 and showed all that class still remains in this 22-point semi final win over Cork’s Blackrock in front of 1826 in the Gaelic Grounds.

It was one-way traffic from the throw-in with Shane O’Neill’s Na Piarsaigh notching scores from Lynch, Peter Casey and Adrian Breen before The Rockies were off the mark.

By half time the lead was 2-11 to 0-6.

It was 0-8 to 0-3 when Na Piarsaigh fired home two swift goals mid-way through the first half.

William OÕDonoghue tackles Ger OÕRegan Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Peter Casey scored the first and then 90-seconds later David Breen advanced from the right wing to score from a tight angle along the endline. That had Na Piarsaigh 2-8 to 0-4 ahead with just 16 minutes played.

Lynch and Casey scores saw out the half for the Limerick champions, while Blackrock had scores from Michael O’Halloran frees, John O’Sullivan and David Cashman.

In the second half the scores of Ronan Lynch dominated. The midfielder, taking the frees in the absence of the injured Shane Dowling, finished with 15-points. His tally included Scorers nine frees, two ’65 a lineball and three from play.

In total Na Piarsaigh had nine scorers and Kevin Downes, Conor Boylan and sub Kevin Ryan had points from play in a straight forward second half in which The Rockies hit just four points.

Scorers for Na Piarsaigh: Ronan Lynch 0-15 (9 frees, 2 ’65, 1 lineball), Peter Casey 1-4, David Breen 1-0, Adrian Breen 0-2, William O’Donoghue, Niall Buckley, Kevin Downes, Kevin Ryan, Conor Boylan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Blackrock: Michael O’Halloran 0-4 (4 frees), David O’Farrell, Ger O’Regan, David Cashman, John O’Sullivan, Alan O’Callaghan and Liam O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Na Piarsaigh

1. Padraic Kennedy

2. Jerome Boylan
3. Mike Casey
4. Niall Buckley

5. Tommy Grimes
6. Cathal King
7. Alan Dempsey

20. Ronan Lynch
9. William O’Donoghue

13. C Boylan
11. David Breen
12. David Dempsey

10. Adrian Breen
14. Kevin Downes
15. Peter Casey


24. Gordan Brown for David Dempsey (h-t)
23. Kevin Ryan for Peter Casey (43)
17. Mike Foley for Tommy Grimes (47)
18. James O’Brien for Niall Buckley (53)
21. Kieran Kennedy for Jerome Boylan (57)


1. Gavin Connolly

18. Tadhg Deasy
3. Dylan Stokes
2. John Cashman

7. Niall Cashman
6. Eoin Smith
5. Andrew Murphy

8. Stephen Murphy
9. David O’Farrell

17. David Cashman
11. Alan O’Callaghan
10. Ger Regan

13. Michael O’Halloran
28. Daniel Meaney
15. John O’Sullivan


22. Alex Hogan for David Cashman (h-t)
21. Liam O’Sullivan for John O’Sullivan (44)
25. Colin O’Leary for Tadhg Deasy (47)
19. Eoin O’Farrell for Alan O’Callaghan (57)

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

After 8 games in 8 weeks, Ballygunner are into the Munster hurling final

‘He’d smile, wink at you and say a little comment about a lad: ‘He won’t be here in a few weeks”

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel