Dublin: 5°C Sunday 23 January 2022

McGettigan shoots 0-6 as Donegal champions book spot in Ulster decider

Naomh Conaill saw off Monaghan’s Clontibret in this evening’s semi-final.

Leo McLoone celebrates after Naomh Conaill's victory.
Leo McLoone celebrates after Naomh Conaill's victory.
Image: Evan Logan/INPHO

Naomh Conaill 0-12
Clontibret 0-9

Alan Foley reports from Healy Park

A LIGHTNING START from Donegal champions Naomh Conaill paved the way for their passage to the final of the Ulster senior club football championship in two weeks’ time.

The side managed by Martin Regan flew out of the traps against Monaghan’s Clontibret and after Brendan McDyer clipped the base of the post when going for goal in the first minute, managed to produce a 0-6 to 0-1 advantage by the 17th minute.

Eoghan McGettigan, who would score six in all having missed the quarter-final win over Castlerahan in Cavan through injury, returned to the fold to post three early points. McDyer, Kevin McGettigan and 2012 All-Ireland winner Leo McLoone continued the forward trajectory for the team from Glenties.

Conor McManus scored all three of Clontibret’s first half scores, although it was Eoghan McGettigan who rounded off the first half scoring to give Naomh Conaill a 0-7 to 0-3 interval lead.

Naomh Conaill had made the Ulster final back in 2010, where they lost to Crossmaglen Rangers and had to get through a three-match saga in this year’s Donegal SFC final to see off last year’s provincial champions Gaoth Dobhair.

conor-mcmanus-and-jeaic-maccealbhui Conor McManus in action for Clontibret against Naomh Conaill. Source: Evan Logan/INPHO

A spectacular score from Ciaran Thompson edged Naomh Conaill into a five-point lead at the start of the second half, before MacManus and scores from Francis Hughes and Dessie Moan kept Clontibret in touch.

However, Naomh Conaill always had Clontibret at arm’s length and booked their place in the final – where they’ll play either Kilcoo from Down or Fermanagh’s Derrygonnelly – thanks to late scores from you know who: Eoghan McGettigan and Ciaran Thompson.

Scorers for Naomh Conaill: Eoghan McGettigan 0-6 (0-3f), Ciaran Thompson 0-3 (0-2f), Kevin McGettigan, Leo McLoone, Brendan McDyer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clontibret: Conor McManus 0-6 (0-5f), Dessie Mone, Francis Hughes, Darragh Hughes 0-1 each.

Naomh Conaill

Stephen McGrath

Jeaic Mac Ceallabhuí
AJ Gallagher
Kevin McGettigan

Ethan O’Donnell
Anthony Thompson
Ultan Doherty

Ciaran Thompson
Leo McLoone

Eunan Dohert
Eoin Waide
Marty Boyle


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Brendan McDyer
Charles McGuinness
Eoghan McGettigan


Kieran Gallagher for AJ Gallagher (23, black card)
Dermot Molloy for McDyer (54)
Stephen Molloy for McGuinness (55)
Darragh Gallagher for E Doherty (60+1)


Darren McDonnell

Conor Doyle
Conor Boyle
Liam Savage

Jack Gormley
Dessie Mone
Colum Greenan

Francis Hughes
Killian Lavelle

David Savage
Michael P O’Dowd
Brian Greenan

Pauric Boyle
Vinny Corey
Conor McManus


Ryan McGuigan for D Savage (23)
Dean McDonnell for McGuigan (50)
Kieran Grennan for Boyle (54)
Darragh Hughes (0-1) for F Hughes (60)

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Alan Foley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel