This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 6 August, 2020

Cork champions Nemo dispatch James O'Donoghue's Legion in Munster semis

Tomás Ó Sé is one win away from a Munster title with the Cork club.

Darragh O’Doherty and Ciaran Dalton tangle.
Darragh O’Doherty and Ciaran Dalton tangle.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Nemo Rangers (Cork) 0-14

Killarney Legion (Kerry) 0-8

CORK CHAMPIONS NEMO Rangers remain on course for another Munster Club SFC title as they accounted for Legion of Kerry at Páirc Uí Rinn this afternoon.

Fifteen of Nemo’s previous 18 Cork titles were followed by provincial victory and they will go in search of number 16 against Clonmel Commercials in the final in a fortnight, having done a lot of the groundwork in the first half.

Playing with the considerable breeze in the opening period, the city side found their rhythm early and were 0-5 to 0-1 ahead inside the first 15 minutes, with Luke Connolly and Barry O’Driscoll impressive while captain Paul Kerrigan was unlucky with a goal effort which whistled over.

Legion struggled to get to grips with playing into the elements, and though Tom Moriarty’s point did reduce the gap to 0-5 to 0-2, Kerrigan and Connolly added further Nemo scores before half-time.

While a close-range James O’Donoghue free for Legion opened the second-half scoring, Nemo continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over. O’Driscoll punished silly fouls by converting frees and Kerrigan and Connolly featured too as they moved 0-13 to 0-5 in front by the 49th minute.

Billy McGuire and James OÕDonoghue Defeat for Legion who must now regroup for their Kerry SFC final replay. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Legion had to attack and they did, with points from Donal Lyne – his shot tipped over by Nemo goalkeeper Micheál Martin – Moriarty and Conor Keane, but Nemo were never going to be denied. Sub Shane Martin got their 14th point and then, at the other end, made a good block to deny Cathal Shehan, ensuring that his side were comfortable six-point winners.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Luke Connolly 0-4 (2f, 1 45), Barry O’Driscoll (3f), Paul Kerrigan 0-3 each, Alan Cronin, Kevin Fulignati, Alan O’Donovan, Shane Martin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Killarney Legion: James O’Donoghue (1f), Tom Moriarty 0-3 each, Donal Lyne, Conor Keane (1f) 0-1 each.

Nemo Rangers

1. Micheál Martin

4. Alan Cronin
3. Ciarán O’Shea
2. Aidan O’Reilly

5. Kevin Fulignati
6. Tomás Ó Sé
7. Alan O’Donovan

8. David Niblock
9. Michael Dorgan

23. Luke Connolly
12. Paul Kerrigan
10. Dylan Mehigan

15. Colin O’Brien
11. Barry O’Driscoll
14. Conor Horgan


19. David O’Donovan for Cronin (37)
13. Ciarán Dalton for Connolly (46)
20. Shane Martin for Ó Sé (54)
25. William Morgan for O’Driscoll (60)

Killarney Legion

1. Brian Kelly

2. Pádraig O’Connor
3. Danny Sheahan
4. Chris Davies

6. Damien O’Sullivan
5. Jonathan Lyne
7. Darragh O’Doherty

8. Shaun Keane
9. Jamie O’Sullivan

10. Billy McGuire
11. James O’Donoghue
21. Donal Lyne

13. Tom Moriarty
12. Kevin Breen
14. David O’Sullivan


22. Denis Sheahan for Breen (21, injured)
20. Cathal Sheahan for Danny Sheahan (35-37, blood)
15. Conor Keane for David O’Sullivan (46)
20. Cathal Sheahan for Danny Sheahan (47, injured)
19. Andy O’Sullivan for Davies (49, black card)

Referee: Derek O’Mahoney (Tipperary)

Dublin’s Cuala overcome Kilkenny champions to book Leinster final spot

Goals are the difference as Na Piarsaigh pip Tipp champs to Munster final place

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: