Bryan Keane/INPHO
Top Of The Tree

Nemo Rangers secure 20th Cork senior title after Finbarr’s fightback in replay

Nemo looked to be crusing to victory before St Finbarr’s rallied to make it a tense finish in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Nemo Rangers 4-12

St Finbarr’s 3-13

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Chaoimh

NEMO RANGERS EXTENDED their lead at the top of the Cork SFC roll of honour as they triumphed in Sunday’s replay at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, a late St Finbarr’s fightback falling short.

Nemo, with 19 previous titles, looked set to win comfortably as sub Adrian Greaney got their fourth goal on 46 minutes, making it 4-11 to 1-8.

They would only add one more point though, with the Barrs – who came from eight down to draw last week – managing to eat into the lead.

Substitute Eoghan Finn netted with 11 minutes remaining, but even then, it wasn’t until Stephen Sherlock drilled a free to the net on 60 minutes that it looked like they had a chance, the lead down to four, 4-12 to 3-11.

Enda Dennehy made it a goal game and Dylan Quinn almost got that goal but he shot over the bar. With the next play, Nemo were able to work the ball up the field and hold possession until the whistle.

Having scored the first eight points in the drawn game, Nemo found themselves 1-1 to 0-0 down here inside three minutes, Sherlock with the goal. The Barrs’ momentum was halted though as a long delay ensued as Nemo’s Cian McWhinney suffered a nasty injury.

A goal by the excellent Jack Horgan got Nemo back into the game and they finished the half well, a brilliant Luke Connolly finish from a tight angle ensuring they led by 2-6 to 1-5 at half-time.

Paul Kerrigan raised their third green flag on the resumption and victory appeared secured when Greaney netted. The Barrs – last winners in 1985 – threatened that dominance, but Nemo held on.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Paul Kerrigan 1-2, Jack Horgan, Luke Connolly 1-1 each, Adrian Greaney 1-0, Ciarán Dalton, Paddy Gumley 0-2 each, Tomás Ó Sé, Kevin Fulignati, Alan O’Donovan, Barry O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Finbarr’s: Stephen Sherlock 2-7 (1-3 frees), Eoghan Finn 1-0, Robert O’Mahony 0-2, Dylan Quinn, Colin Lyons, Denis O’Brien, Enda Dennehy 0-1 each.

Nemo Rangers

1. Micheál Martin

3. Aidan O’Reilly (captain)
2. Cian McWhinney
4. Alan Cronin

5. Tomás Ó Sé
6. Stephen Cronin
7. Kevin Fulignati

8. Alan O’Donovan
9. Jack Horgan

10. Barry O’Driscoll
11. Paul Kerrigan
12. Colin O’Brien

14. Paddy Gumley
13. Luke Connolly
15. Ciarán Dalton


17. Kevin O’Donovan for McWhinney (9, injured)
20. Jack O’Donovan for Fulignati (30, injured)
23. Adrian Greaney for O’Brien (37)
25. Michael Dorgan for Alan O’Donovan (54)
7. Fulignati for Alan Cronin (54)
19. Conor Horgan for Gumley (57)

St Finbarr’s

1. Declan Murphy

6. Dylan Quinn
3. Jamie Burns
7. Alan McCarthy

21. Alan O’Connor
28. Sam Ryan
2. Glen O’Connor

8. Ian Maguire (captain)
5. Colin Lyons

10. Denis O’Brien
11. Michael Shields
12. Enda Dennehy

22. Roy Leahy
18. Robert O’Mahony
15. Stephen Sherlock


31. Eoghan Finn for O’Brien (42)
13. Cilian Myers Murray for Leahy (46)
25. Colm Keane for Lyons (46)
14. Ian O’Callaghan for O’Mahony (51)
27. Ross O’Dwyer for Ryan (57)
4. Paul Kennedy for O’Connor (59)

Referee: James Bermingham (Bride Rovers).

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Donegal players pay tribute to former goalkeeping coach who passed away following cancer battle

‘Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d play in 10 county finals’: Gooch chasing 7th Kerry medal

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel