Dublin: 12°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

12 changes to All Black side following Ireland defeat

New Zealand have named a much-changed team for their Test against Italy in Rome.

STEVE HANSEN HAS made 12 changes to the side that lost to Ireland last weekend ahead of their Test match against Italy.

New Zealand team dejected after losing Source: Photosport/Andrew Cornaga/INPHO

Rieko Ioane and Liam Coltman are set to make their New Zealand debuts as two of the numerous changes for Saturday’s match.

Ireland beat the All Blacks 40-29 in Chicago on Saturday, a defeat which ended their tier-one record run of 18 consecutive Test wins.

While Ioane and Coltman were named in the matchday 23, Sam Cane will captain a much-changed team at the Stadio Olimpico.

Damian McKenzie gets his first Test start at full-back, while Wyatt Crockett and Charlie Faumuina also come into the XV.

“On behalf of the entire All Blacks squad, we want to congratulate Liam and Rieko on their elevation to the matchday 23 for the first time,” All Blacks coach Steve Hansen said.

“They have both worked incredibly hard and deserve their opportunity.

“Whilst we have made a number of changes, as we indicated, we will be looking for a massive improvement in our performance from last weekend.

“Italy will bring their own unique flavour to the game. They have a big, strong forward pack and some really exciting backs. They will look to drive their maul and be as disruptive as possible.

“Therefore, we will have to be clinical and effective in all aspects of our game, starting with our set-piece. We are also expecting to see an improvement in our kicking game.”

New Zealand:

1. Wyatt Crockett
2. Codie Taylor
3. Charlie Faumuina
4. Patrick Tuipulotu
5. Scott Barrett
6. Elliot Dixon
7. Sam Cane (captain)
8. Steven Luatua

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
10. Aaron Cruden
11. Waisake Naholo
12. Anton Lienert-Brown
13. Malakai Fekitoa
14. Israel Dagg
15. Damien McKenzie


16. Liam Coltman
17. Joe Moody
18. Ofa Tu’ungafasi
19. Brodie Retallick
20. Matt Todd
21. Aaron Smith
22. Lima Sopoaga
23. Rieko Ioane

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

13 months after his last cap, O’Mahony not taking Ireland return for granted

Proximity of toughest Tests tempers Irish excitement for Women’s Rugby World Cup

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: