This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 January, 2020

Djokovic and Ennis win top European Sportsperson awards for 2012

The runners-up were double Olympic gold medallist Mo Farah and a Norwegian cross-country skiier.

Image: Yui Mok/PA Wire

NOVAK DJOKOVIC may not have enjoyed the dominant year on the tennis courts that rocketed him to the world number one spot in 2011 but the awards keep coming.

For the second year running, the Serbian was named the European Sportsman of the Year by AIPS (International Press Association) Europe.

Djokovic won the 2012 Australian Open and the end of year ATP Tour Finals to solidify his position as the world’s best male tennis player.

He topped the poll ahead of Olympic champion Mo Farah and Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel. Andy Murray, winner of the US Open and Wimbledon Gold, made it into the top 10 but never threatened Djokovic for the accolade.

The Serb, already a winner of the coveted award in 2011, accumulated 39 votes, 10 more than Farah, with Vettel a further point back.

Jessica Ennis, the Olympic Gold Medallist heptathlete, won the European Sportswoman of the Year prize.

With 62 votes to her credit, Ennis polled ahead of Norwegian cross country skier, Marit Bjoergen who received 23 votes, and tennis player Viktoria Azarenka from Belarus with 17 votes.

It was the  30th annual poll conducted by AIPS Europe, formerly the European Sports Press Union.

There has only ever been one Irish winner of the award – Stephen Roche in 1987.

Why always him? Balotelli and Mancini pulled apart following training ground bust-up

O’Driscoll, Kearney and Fitzgerald all return to Leinster team

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel