This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Two sent-off for Offaly in their biggest league defeat to Laois since 1961

The O’Moore County secured their first points of the Division 1B campaign.

Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Laois 1-26

Offaly 1-20

LAOIS ENJOYED A six-point derby success over Offaly in Division 1B against a Faithful side who finished the game with 13 men.

Eamonn Kelly enjoyed a win against Offaly, who he managed last season, as Laois picked up their first win of the spring campaign.

Picky Maher and Cha Dwyer, who helped Carlow IT reach the Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final in midweek, were outstanding for Laois as they fought back from a five-point deficit to win by six.

It’s Offaly’s second defeat in as many games in the league, following their 26-point hiding by Galway last weekend.

On a positive note for Kevin Ryan’s side, the Waterford native confirmed Derek Morkan has returned to the Offaly panel, while he’s hopeful Colin Egan and David King will return in the coming weeks.

Offaly led by six points in the early stages after goals from Oisin Kelly and Peter Geraghty, but Laois soon fought their way back into the game.

Quick-fire scores for the O’Moore County’s arrived from Maher and Dwyer arrived before Conor Doughan hit the back of the Offaly net.

Emmett Nolan dejected after the game Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Shane Dooley and Maher kept the scores coming for either side from placed balls and the teams were on a par five times before the break.

Laois lead by 1-12 to 1-8 at half-time, by which time the visitors were down to 14 men after Sean Gardiner’s red card. Three quick points followed after the restart as Laois stretched their lead to seven before Offaly lost Aidan Treacy to a red.

The Faithful battled well with the two-man disadvantage, with Dooley and Sean Cleary keeping them in touch in the second-half.

Offaly trailed by six heading into the final ten minutes but couldn’t get any closer as the home side held firm.


Enda Rowland

Dwane Palmer
Leigh Bergin
Padraig Lawlor

Cahir Healy
Matthew Whelan
Ryan Mullaney

Patrick Purcell
Ben Conroy

Stephen Maher
Charles Dwyer
Paddy Whelan

Willie Dunphy
Neil Foyle
Ross King


Cian Taylor for Whelan (24)
Sean Downey for Lawlor (24)
Aaron Dunphy for Purcell (45)
Aidan Corby for Conroy (60)
Conor Phelan for Palmer (68)


James Dempsey

Dermot Short
Michael Cleary
James Mulrooney

Aidan Treacy
Conor Doughan
Ben Conneely

Paddy Murphy
Cillian Kiely

Shane Dooley
Sean Gardiner
Peter Geraghty

Sean Ryan
Oisín Kelly
Sean Cleary


Emmet Nolan for Murphy (28)
Enda Grogan for Mulrooney (47)
Padraig Guinan for Conneely (55)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Last year’s All-Ireland finalists open 2017 with wins and they both mean business

As it happened: Cork v Dublin, Division 1A hurling league

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: