Kilcormac/Killoughey secured the 4th Offaly hurling title in their history today

Plus, we run through hurling finals results from Westmeath, Kildare, Longford and Wicklow.

KILCORMAC/KILLOUGHEY DEFEATED St Rynagh’s by 2-16 to 1-16 in the Offaly senior hurling championship final in an entertaining affair.

Ger Healion and Pater Healion celebrate winning the Robbins Cup Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Kilcormac/Killoughey were without experienced forward Dan Currams but they raced into a 2-10 to 0-5 half-time lead in front of 6,117.

Ciaran Slevin and Thomas Geraghty hit the net for the eventual winners in the opening half, but St Rynagh’s turned things around after the break and fought back to within two points with nine minutes left.

Joey O’Connor, wing-back with the county footballers, bagged a 51st minute goal to give the Banagher outfit hope, but Kilcormac/Killoughey held out for their fourth ever title.

Hurling round-up

Castletown Geoghegan beat Raharney by 1-18 to 1-16 to lift their first Westmeath SHC title since 2013, while Ardclough beat Naas by 1-15 to 1-12 in the Kildare SHC final.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Wolfe Tones were crowned winners of the Longford SHC after a 2-11 to 2-10 defeat of Longford Slashers and  Glenealy lifted the Wicklow SHC crown courtesy of a 2-12 to 0-11 success against Bray Emmets.

John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer and Michael Quinlivan to meet in Tipperary football final

Cork senior football champions crash out as repeat of 2010 decider beckons

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel