Niall McNamee remains at full-forward. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
Second chance

Much the same for Offaly as they name their team for the trip to Aughrim

Offaly face Wicklow on Saturday evening in Round 1 of the qualifiers.

OFFALY HAVE MADE just one change to the team beaten by Longford for Saturday’s qualifier clash with Wicklow.

Edenderry’s David Hanlon, who was sent off in that four-point defeat to Longford, is replaced by U21 Joseph O’Connor.

O’Connor comes in to the team at corner-back with Daithi Brady filling the full-back position. Other positional changes include Ruarai Allen and Johnny Moloney switching from midfield to centre-back.

Similarly Anton O’Sullivan has switched from the half-forward line to corner-forward, with youngster Peter Cunningham moving out.

Cunningham, like O’Connor, Joe Maher and Eoin Carroll, was a member of the U21 team who defeated reigning champions Kildare in this year’s Leinster quarter-final.

Manager Emmet McDonnell has stuck with Niall McNamee at full-forward and he’ll be hopeful the Rhode man can replicate his seven-point tally against Wicklow on Saturday.

Throw-in is at 7pm in Aughrim.


1. Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)
2. Joseph O’Connor (St Rynagh’s)
3. Daithi Brady (Ballyfore)
4. Niall Darby (Rhode)
5. Brian Darby (Rhode)
6. Ruarai Allen (Gracefield)
7. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
8. Johnny Moloney (Tullamore)
9. Niall Smith (Gracefield)
10. Eoin Carroll (Cappincur)
11. Graham Guilfoyle (Clara)
12. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)
13. Joe Maher (Ferbane)
14. Niall McNamee (Rhode)
15. Anton Sullivan (Rhode)

Mick O’Dwyer on 3 great years with Laois and why ‘Kerry will be there or thereabouts’

A bridge named after the late, great Jim Stynes was opened in Australia today

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.