Murray continues scoring run and O'Mahony welcomed back in Munster win over Zebre

CJ Stander scored two of Munster’s seven tries in a comfortable win.

Image: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Munster 49

Zebre 5

IRELAND INTERNATIONAL PETER O’Mahony was introduced on the hour as Munster claimed a comfortable bonus point victory over Zebre at Thomond Park.

O’Mahony had not played for Munster since they beat Ospreys in May 2015, due to an injury he picked up for Ireland against France in the World Cup. He was welcomed back after coming on in place of Darren O’Shea.

CJ Stander touched down twice while Darren Sweetnam, Conor Murray, Simon Zebo and Stephen Archer also scored along with a penalty try – Gabriele Di Giulio grabbed the consolation for Zebre.

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus had made eight changes after the bonus point win over Edinburgh in Round four.

Munster had won eight from eight against Zebre in the Pro12 and didn’t lose in Thomond Park so far this year. And with a 28-0 lead at half-time they were in control against Zebre at the break, following a clinical display from the hosts.

Munster’s Conor Murray scores a try Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Sweetnam scored the first try in the second minute and Murray scored his third try in seven days shortly after. Tyler Bleyendaal converted both tries and Munster were rampant, Stander adding to Zebre’s woes just before the half-hour.

The Italian side had no answer, instead Zebo secured the bonus point in the 32nd minute and Bleyendaal’s conversion gave him a perfect record in the first-half, and Munster a 28-0 half-time lead.

Munster got a penalty try before Archer crossed for their sixth effort. Di Giulio got Zebre’s only try in the 72nd minute but Stander rounded off an impressive win with two minutes remaining.



Tries: Darren Sweetnam, Conor Murray, CJ Stander (2), Simon Zebo, Stephen Archer, Penalty try.

Conversions: Tyler Bleyendaal (4), Ian Keatley (3)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


Try: Gabriele Di Giulio

Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls (Cian Bohane ’48), Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal (Ian Keatley ’48), Conor Murray (Duncan Williams ’60); Dave Kilcoyne (James Cronin ’60), Duncan Casey (Niall Scannell ’67), Stephen Archer (John Ryan ’67); Donnacha Ryan, Darren O’Shea (Peter O’Mahony ’60); Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell (Conor Oliver ’67), CJ Stander.

Zebre: Edoardo Padovani; Gabriele Di Giulio, Giulio Bisegni, Tommaso Castello (Tommaso Boni ’54), Giovanbattista Venditti (Lloyd Greeff ’54); Carlo Canna, Guglielmo Palazzani (Carlo Engelbrecht ’68); Andrea Lovotti (Bruno Postiglioni ’64), Tommaso D’Apice (Carlo Festuccia ’60), Dario Chistolini (Guillermo Roan ’50); Quntin Geldenhuys, Gideon Koegelenberg; Jacopo Sarto (Derick Minnie ’46), Johan Meyer (Joshua Furno ’65), Federico Ruzza.

Referee: Dan Jones (WRU).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Belvo beat Lansdowne (again) to claim silverware, Trinity treble sees off Mary’s

A win at last: Pat Lam proud to see Connacht do it their way

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: