This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 23 July, 2019

Teams from London, Liverpool and 12 Irish counties to play in Páidí Ó Sé tournament

The 27th annual football festival takes place in West Kerry from 19th-21st February.

TEAMS FROM 12 Irish counties with four sides from London and one from Liverpool will partake in the annual Páidí Ó Sé football tournament next month.

The West Kerry football festival, sponsored by PhoneWatch, takes place on the weekend of 19-21 February in the Dingle Peninsula.

Kerry manager Paidi O'Se in 2000 15/12/2012 Legendary Kerry GAA figure Páidí Ó Sé. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

The tournament was officially launched in Dublin last night with teams from Kerry, Cork, Louth, Waterford, Limerick, Sligo, Dublin, Clare, Galway, Kildare, Westmeath and Mayo involved across the six levels of competition.

The competition was first established in 1989 by Kerry legend Ó Sé, who passed away in 2012.

Marc and Padraig O'Se 2 Pádraig Óg Ó Sé with his cousin Marc beside the Páidí Ó Sé status in Ventry.

Here’s the full breakdown of the teams involved.

Senior Men Cup

  • An Ghaeltacht – Kerry
  • Dingle – Kerry
  • Bishopstown – Cork
  • Dundalk Gaels – Louth
  • Kingdom Kerry Gaels - London
  • Kilrossanty - Waterford
  • Newcastlewest - Limerick
  • St Mary’s, Ardee – Louth

Intermediate Men’s Cup

  • Easkey Sea Blues – Sligo
  • Keel – Kerry
  • St John’s – Sligo
  • Clanna Gael Fontenoy – Dublin
  • Annascaul – Kerry
  • Lispole – Kerry

Junior Men’s Cup

  • Castlegregory – Kerry
  • Dulwich Harps – London
  • Round Towers – London
  • Rosenallis – Laois
  • Midleton – Cork
  • St Breckan’s – Clare

Senior Ladies Cup

  • Claregalway – Galway
  • Rathmore – Kerry
  • Confey – Kildare
  • Castleisland – Kerry

Intermediate Ladies Cup

  • The Downs – Westmeath
  • Naomh Abán – Cork
  • Corca Dhuibhne – Kerry
  • Burrishoole – Mayo

Junior Ladies

  • Portobello – Dublin
  • Na Gaeil Óga – Dublin
  • Man O’War – Dublin
  • John Mitchel’s – Kerry
  • Dingle – Kerry
  • Lucan – Dublin
  • John Mitchel’s – Liverpool
  • Fulham Ladies – London

‘I think Diarmuid Connolly maybe gets a tough press sometimes’

The GAA explain why the GPA’s All-Ireland football championship proposal was shelved

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel