This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Saturday 11 July, 2020

Extent of Cork’s Paudie O’Sullivan injury confirmed – broken fibula and tibia

Several inter-county GAA personalities have tweeted good wishes to the unlucky Rebels attacker.

Image: @psull88

IT HAS BEEN confirmed that Cork hurler Paudie O’Sullivan suffered a broken fibula and tibia in a club match last night as he is set to miss his county’s 2013 championship campaign.

The 24 year-old suffered the devastating injury while in action last night for divisional outfit Imokilly in a county senior hurling championship game against Cork IT.

He was set to undergo an operation this morning  but that has now been postponed until tomorrow as he faces a lengthy spell on the sidelines in a major blow for both the player and Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s Rebels squad.

O’Sullivan suffered the injury in the early stages of the game and the match was subsequently abandoned after the incident by referee Kevin Murphy.

The 24 year-old was stretchered off the pitch and left the Carrigtwohill venue in an ambulance.

He tweeted a picture of his injured left leg earlier today and also thanked all those who have sent him messages of support in the wake of the incident.

O’Sullivan’s older brother Diarmuid, a three-time All-Ireland winner with Cork, praised the actions of the medical personnel after the incident.

Several inter-county GAA personalities have tweeted best wishes to Paudie in his recovery from the injury.

Extent of Cork’s Paudie O’Sullivan injury confirmed – broken fibula and tibia
1 / 12
  • Anthony Nash (Cork)

  • Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

  • Donal Og Cusack (Cork)

  • Donal Og Cusack (Cork)

  • Eanna Martin (Wexford)

  • Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

  • Gavin O'Mahony (Limerick)

  • Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)

  • Lorcan McLoughlin (Cork)

  • Shane McGrath (Tipperary)

  • Paudie Sull

  • P Sull 2

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: