Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 3°C Saturday 5 December 2020

Paul O'Connell has been named Player of the Six Nations for 2015

There won’t be too many arguments with this.

PAUL O’CONNELL HAS been named the Player of the Championship for the 2015 Six Nations.

Paul O'Connell Paulie is number one. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

The 35-year-old started all five of Ireland’s games as Joe Schmidt’s side secured their second consecutive championship win.

The Munster legend secured over 26% of the public vote, with the second-placed Alun-Wyn Jones receiving 19%. Ireland’s Robbie Henshaw was third in the voting with just under 11%, narrowly ahead of Wales’ Dan Biggar.

I’m delighted to receive the RBS Player of the Championship Trophy,” said O’Connell. “When you see the names that have gone before, you realise what a great honour it is. I’m very grateful for all the supporters who voted for me”.

O’Connell captained Ireland to wins against Italy, France, England and Scotland, the only disappointment coming in defeat to Wales in Cardiff.

Source: RBS 6 Nations/YouTube

The second row’s individual performances were consistently superb through the competition, the Limerick man even grabbing a try during the final day 40-10 victory against Scotland.

O’Connell was joined on the shortlist for player of the tournament by Irish teammates Conor Murray and Henshaw, while four Englishman made that selection [George Ford, Jonathan Joseph, Ben Youngs and Billy Vunipola].

Welsh pair Biggar and Jones, Scots Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg, and Italian captain Sergio Parisse completed the list.

Paul O'Connell O'Connell with his shiny new trophy in Limerick. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

O’Connell is likely to prove a popular winner thanks to this excellence for Ireland, and his ongoing form bodes will for Schmidt’s side in a vital year of international rugby.

The legendary lock has been given the weekend off after his Six Nations exploits as his Munster teammates prepare to face Connacht tomorrow evening.

RBS Player of the Championship – previous winners

2014 – Mike Brown
2013 – Leigh Halfpenny
2012 – Dan Lydiate
2011 – Andrea Masi
2010 – Tommy Bowe
2009 – Brian O’Driscoll
2008 – Shane Williams
2007 – Brian O’Driscoll
2006 – Brian O’Driscoll

Leinster looking for kick start with dangerous Glasgow in town

Zebo and TOD return for Munster as Connacht name Marmion and Carty

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: