Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Tom O'Sullivan was central to today's victory for PS Chorca Dhuibhne.
# Champions Again
Four-in-a-row glory for PS Chorca Dhuibhne as they win Corn Uí Mhuirí final against Rochestown
Conor Geaney’s goal was the crucial score as PS Chorca Dhuibhne triumphed.

PS Chorca Dhuibhne 1-10
Rochestown College 0-10

A COMBINATION OF a Conor Geaney goal and an outstanding display from Tomas O Suilleabhain allowed PS Chorcha Dhuibhne to create history in winning their fourth consecutive Corn Ui Mhuiri title after victory over Rochestown College in the replay of today’s decider in Rathmore.

The West Kerry school become the first side since the Tralee CBS team of 1931-34 to achieve the feat as they inflicted more heartache on Rochestown who had lost the Dr Harty Cup final in hurling to Thurles CBS two weeks previously.

A poor opening 20 minutes saw both teams struggle with the heavy, underfoot conditions. A point from Rochestown’s Evan Ryle and Geaney’s goal were the only scores in that period, the green flag coming in the sixth minute just after Ciaran Cormack very nearly struck for an opportunist goal for Rochestown at the other end. Mairtin O Gormain and Seamus O Muircheartaigh were involved in the build-up to the goal.

Two points from Geaney ensured Pobalscoil led by 1-3 to 0-4 at half-time as there was never more than a score between both sides in a very tight affair. The teams were level at 1-5 to 0-8 at the three-quarter mark but the Cork school crucially never went ahead in proceedings.

Pobalscoil responded with good composure in the closing stages. The victors closed out the game with a late brace of points for O’Sullivan and Cathal O Bambaire alongside an insurance point from new Kerry minor captain Marc O’Connor.

Pobalscoil will now face either of the two St Pat’s sides (Dungannon or Cavan) contesting the MacRory Cup Final in the All-Ireland semi-final as they now look to successfully defend their Hogan Cup title.

Scorers for PS Chorca Dhuibhne: Conor Geaney 1-3 (0-1f), Tom O’Sullivan, Cathal Bambury 0-3 each, Mark O’Connor 0-1.

Scorers for Rochestown College: Shane Kingston (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Ciaran Cormack 0-3 each, Kevin O’Donovan, Evan Ryle, Liam Dineen, C Sheehan 0-1 each.

PS Chorca Dhuibhne

1. Lucas de Bhailís (An Ghaeltacht)

2. Conchúir Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)
3. Tomás Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)
4. Cian Ó Murchú (An Ghaeltacht)

5. Aodhán Ó Conchúir (Dingle)
6. Briain Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)
7. Tom Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)

8. Pádraig Mac an tSithigh (Dingle)
9. Marc Ó Conchúir (Dingle)

10. Mairtín Ó Gormáin (An Ghaeltacht)
11. Seán Ó Gairbhia (An Ghaeltacht)
12. Gearóid Ó hIcí Ó Brosnacháin

13. Cathal Ó Bambaire (Dingle)
14. Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh (An Ghaeltacht)
15. Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh (Dingle)

PJ Mac Laimh for O Brosnacháin (half-time)
Barra Seán Mac an Bradán for Ó Muircheartaigh (56)
T Mac an tSithigh for O Bambaire (black card) (59)

Rochestown College

1. Paddy Lynch (St Michael’s)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

2. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
3. Niall Quirke (Carrgaline)
4. Donnchadh Murphy (Douglas)

5. A Geaney
6. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
7. Seán Powter (Douglas)

8. Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas)
9. Evan Ryle (Carrigaline)

10. Liam O’Sullivan (St Michael’s)
11. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
12. Daniel Meaney (St Michael’s)

13. Liam Dineen (Douglas)
14. Matthew McAuliffe (Douglas)
15. Ciarán Cormack (St Michael’s)

D Stack for Murphy (52)
Cathal Sheehan (Douglas) for O’Sullivan (52)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Five first-half goals but Cork celebrate at finish with 11-point win over Kerry

Mayo pick up key win away to Derry as Ronaldson and Sweeney bag goals