Dublin: 14°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

Obafemi returns, while Hamilton and Ebosele receive first call-ups as Kenny names squad for June

Meanwhile, Cyrus Christie replaces the injured Matt Doherty in the 27-man squad.

CJ Hamilton in action for former club Mansfield.
CJ Hamilton in action for former club Mansfield.
Image: EMPICS Sport

STEPHEN KENNY HAS recalled Michael Obafemi to his 27-man Republic of Ireland squad for June’s four Uefa Nations League fixtures against Armenia, Ukraine (twice) and Scotland.

The 21-year-old striker, who earned his only previous senior international cap as far back as 2018, has been in excellent form for Swansea City in the English Championship this season, scoring 12 goals and registering three assists in 32 league appearances for the Welsh club.

Winger CJ Hamilton, 27, has also received his first call-up after a solid campaign for Blackpool in the same division. Hamilton was born in London but grew up in Waterford, his mother’s home county. He he previously played for Déise club Carrick United in football as well as hurling with Clonea before moving to England to join Sheffield United as a youth player. Hamilton scored two goals and laid on four assists in 24 league outings for Blackpool this season.

Derby County man Festy Ebosele has also received his first call-up to the senior squad after an impressive year for the Rams. The Enniscorthy man is set to join Serie A club Udinese in July. Ebosele is listed as a forward by Kenny despite also being adept at right wing-back.

Another man in form, Fulham’s Cyrus Christie, replaces the injured Matt Doherty among Ireland’s defenders.

Republic of Ireland Squad for June Uefa Nations League fixtures

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Nathan Collins (Burnley), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jason Knight (Derby County).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Scott Hogan (Birmingham City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Michael Obafemi (Swansea City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), CJ Hamilton (Blackpool), Festy Ebosele (Derby County)

Fixtures – Uefa Nations League

  • 04/06 – Armenia v Ireland, Republican Stadium, Yerevan. 2pm (5pm local time)
  • 08/06 – Republic of Ireland v Ukraine, Aviva Stadium – 7.45pm
  • 11/06 – Republic of Ireland v Scotland, Aviva Stadium – 5pm
  • 14/06 – Ukraine v Republic of Ireland, ŁKS Stadium, Łódź – 7.45pm (8.45pm local time)

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel