Natacha Pisarenko/AP/Press Association Images Scotland's Max Evans is tackled by Argentina's Juan Manuel Leguizamon during a rugby match in Tucuman, Argentina
Rugby World Cup
Revamped Americas Rugby Championship announced
A Churchill Cup-esque competition for Americas announced.

THE INTERNATIONAL RUGBY BOARD (IRB) has announced a new structure for this year’s Americas Championship competition.

The second Americas Championship is to be held in Argentina this October, and will this year feature ‘A’ teams from Argentina, Canada, USA and Tonga as the four sides begin their build-up to the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Last year the Argentina Jaguars (their ‘A’ side) won the competition and IRB Head of Development and Performance Mark Egan says the competition represents a “great step forward” for rugby the Americas.

Previously, the competition featured Canadian and American clubs, and Egan feels that their replacement by national teams can only be a good thing.

“The move from a regional format to a competition featuring international A teams fits well with the strategic aims of the participating Unions and underlines the IRB’s commitment to delivering an integrated schedule that combines IRB Strategic investment tournaments within a framework that also delivers regular international matches for targeted High Performance Unions.”

“Tonga has been invited to participate in the tournament this year in order to provide the Union with much needed additional international fixtures as they work towards the opening game of RWC 2011 against the All Blacks. They will provide stern opposition for USA Select XV, Canada Selects and the Jaguars, whose players don’t normally get an opportunity to test themselves against the mighty Pacific Islanders. “

Round One:
Tuesday, October 5, 2010
USA Select XV v Tonga A
Argentina Jaguars v Canada Selects

Round Two:
Sunday, October 10, 2010
Canada Selects v Tonga A
Argentina Jaguars v USA Select XV

Round Three:
Friday, October 15, 2010
Canada Selects v USA Select XV
Argentina Jaguars v Tonga A