This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 19 September, 2019
Advertisement

Red card or not: What did you make of that Richie Hogan sending off?

Kilkenny were a man down in the All-Ireland hurling final from the 33rd minute.

Richie Hogan receives a red card from James Owens Richie Hogan is shown a red card by James Owens. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

RED OR NOT?

Kilkenny went down to 14 men in the All-Ireland hurling final after Richie Hogan was given his marching orders in the 33rd minute.

It was a late, high challenge on Cathal Barrett down the Hogan Stand corner of Croke Park, and replays indicate an elbow was thrown. James Owen adjudged it as a red card.

Deliberate or not though, that’s the question. 

And there was plenty of discussion in the RTÉ studio at half-time.

“It’s a red card. It’s elbow to head. That’s why the rules are there,” Dónal Óg Cusack said. Henry Shefflin wasn’t just as sure.

What did you lot think at home?

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:

COMMENTS (110)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel