Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 12°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO
# Shuffle The Pack
Neil McGee returns from illness as Donegal hand out one starting debut for Roscommon clash
The Rossies are back on home soil in Dr Hyde Park on Sunday.

DONEGAL BOSS RORY Gallagher has recalled Neil McGee to his starting line-up for Sunday’s Allianz League trip to Roscommon.

McGee felt unwell on the morning of Donegal’s league opener against Kerry and did not feature, but he has recovered to start at full-back against the Rossies.

In the only other change to his team, Gallagher will give a first league start to Conor Gibbons. The St Eunan’s forward made his first appearance for his county in last week’s three-point defeat to Kerry.

After an opening league loss to Tyrone, Roscommon made three changes for Sunday’s tie as they seek to pick up their first points of this campaign.

John McManus comes into the team at wing-back, Shane Killoran will make his first league start at wing-forward while Fintan Cregg – who chipped in with 0-3 against Tyrone – gets the nod to start at full-forward.

Defender David Murray and forward Ultan Harney are ruled out through injury while Niall Daly drops to the bench.

Throw-in at Dr Hyde Park on Sunday afternoon is 2.30pm.


1. Mark Anthony McGinley

2. Caolan Ward
3. Neil McGee
4. Paddy McGrath

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Ryan McHugh
7. Paul Brennan

8. Jason McGee
9. Hugh McFadden

10. Ciaran Thompson
11. Martin O’Reilly
12. Conor Gibbons

13. Patrick McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Jamie Brennan


1. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)

2. Seanie McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Thomas Featherston (Oran)
4. Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s)

5. Ronan Stack (St Brigid’s)
6. Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
7. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
9. Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk)

10. Shane Killoran (Elphin)
11. Ciarán Murtagh (Captain) (St Faithleach’s)
12. Enda Smith (Boyle)

13. Donie Smith (Boyle)
14. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
15. Conor Devaney (Kilbride)


16. Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)
17. Paddy Brogan (Strokestown)
18. Ciaran Cafferkey (Western Gaels)
19. Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
20. Tom Corcoran (Strokestown)
21. Hubert Darcy (Padraig Pearses)
22. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
23. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
24. Aengus Lyons (Fuerty)
25. Gary Patterson (Michael Glaveys)
26. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)

Additional reporting by Kevin O’Brien

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Here’s the draw for the 2017 Mayo senior football championship

Brian O’Driscoll nails winning score in extra-time as UCC sneak past Carlow IT into last four

Your Voice
Readers Comments