This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 21 February, 2020

Young St Brigid's forward among 3 championship newcomers in Roscommon team to face Leitrim

The winners will take on Galway in the Connacht final.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

KEVIN McSTAY HAS named the Roscommon side to face Leitrim in Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final at Dr Hyde Park.

McStay is hoping to take the Rossies to their second straight provincial decider, with a rematch against Galway awaiting his team if they can overcome Leitrim.

Three players will make their championship debuts this weekend. Colm Lavin comes in between the posts, Tadhg O’Rourke at midfield and Brian Stack on the half-forward line.

Stack, whose older brother Ronan is on the bench, featured for St Brigid’s in their Connacht club final late last year.

The team shows four changes from their final league game against Cavan, with Gary Patterson, Cian Connolly and injured duo Ultan Harney and Cathal Compton making way.

John McManus, Sean Mullooly, Stack and Fintan Cregg replace them.

Roscommon (vs Leitrim)

1 Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)

2 David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
3 John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
4 Niall McInerney (St Brigids)

5 Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
6 Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
7 Conor Devaney (Kilbride)

8 Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk Lord Edwards)
9 Enda Smith (Boyle)

10 Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11 Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
12 Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)

13 Ciaráin Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
14 Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
15 Donie Smith (Boyle)


16 Darren O’Malley (Michael Glavey’s)
17 Brian Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
18 Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
19 Colin Compton (Strokestown)
20 David Rooney (St Faithleach’s)
21 Gary Patterson (Michael Glavey’s)
22 Henry Walsh (Kilbride)
23 Ian Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
24 Ronan Stack (St Brigid’s)
25 Shane Killoran (Elphin)
26 Thomas Featherston (Oran)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Dublin’s Diarmuid Connolly set to appeal his 12-week suspension

‘They took off Andy Moran and Kevin McLoughlin. I think it was a mistake’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel