Dublin: 25°C Thursday 11 August 2022

RTÉ announce 2022 GAA championship TV schedule with 35 live games

The live schedule begins with Munster hurling action this Sunday.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

RTÉ HAVE LAUNCHED their 2022 GAA championship schedule with 35 games set to be televised live.

The championship begins this weekend with The Sunday Game televising two Munster senior hurling ties as league winners Waterford face Tipperary and All-Ireland champions Limerick travel to take on Cork.

The station’s first championship football game of the season will be the Connacht meeting of Mayo and Galway in Castlebar on Sunday week, 24 April.

There will be 17 hurling games live on RTÉ – nine in Munster, two in Leinster, the Joe McDonagh Cup final and five in the All-Ireland series.

Then there will be 18 live football matches with seven in the provinces (three in Ulster, two in Connacht, one in Munster and one in Leinster), three in the Tailteann Cup and eight in the All-Ireland series.

RTÉ’s punditry team for the opening weekend will see presenter Joanne Cantwell joined by Anthony Daly, Donal Óg Cusack and Shane Dowling for the live Munster hurling ties, while the highlights show that evening sees Des Cahill alongside Colm O’Rourke, Derek McGrath, Liam Sheedy and Sean Cavanagh.

joanne-cantwell RTÉ's Sunday Game presenter Joanne Cantwell. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Here’s the full list of what’s in store:


Sunday 17 April

  • 2pm – Munster SHC: Waterford v Tipperary, Walsh Park.
  • 4pm – Munster SHC: Cork v Limerick, Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Sunday 24 April

  • 2pm – Munster SHC: Tipperary v Clare, Semple Stadium.
  • 4pm – Connacht SFC: Mayo v Galway, Castlebar.

Sunday 1 May

  • 2pm – Leinster SHC: Galway v Kilkenny, Pearse Stadium.
  • 4pm – Ulster SFC: Derry v Tyrone/Fermanagh.

Sunday 8 May

  • 2pm – Munster SHC: Limerick v Tipperary, Gaelic Grounds.
  • 4pm – Ulster SFC: Donegal/Armagh v Cavan/Antrim.

Sunday 15 May

  • 2pm – Munster SHC: Waterford v Cork, Walsh Park.
  • 4pm – Munster SHC: Clare v Limerick, Cusack Park.

Sunday 22 May

- (RTÉ 1 & RTÉ 2 simultaneous)

  • Munster SHC: Tipperary v Cork, Semple Stadium.
  • Munster SHC: Clare v Waterford, Cusack Park.

Saturday 28 May

  • 3pm – Munster senior football final.
  • 5pm – Leinster senior football final.

Sunday 29 May

  • 1.45pm – Connacht senior football final.
  • 4pm – Ulster senior football final.

Saturday 4 June

  • 4.45pm – Joe McDonagh Cup hurling final.
  • 7pm – Leinster senior hurling final.

Sunday 5 June

  • 2pm – Round 1 football qualifier.
  • 4pm – Munster senior hurling final.

Sunday 12 June

  • Round 2 football qualifiers (x2 matches).

Saturday 18 June

  • All-Ireland hurling quarter-finals (x2).

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

Sunday 19 June

  • Tailteann Cup semi-finals (x2).

Sunday 26 June

  • All-Ireland football quarter-finals (x2).

Saturday 2 July

  • All-Ireland hurling semi-final.

Sunday 3 July

  • All-Ireland hurling semi-final.

Saturday 9 July

  • Tailteann Cup final.
  • All-Ireland football semi-final.

Sunday 10 July

  • All-Ireland football semi-final.

Sunday 17 July

  • All-Ireland hurling final.

Sunday 24 July

  • All-Ireland football final.


Get set for the summer by listening to The42 GAA Weekly’s Football Championship preview pod here, and get 50% off an annual membership when you sign up this week using the code CHAMPIONSHIP2022 at members.the42.ie

Source: Highlights from The42 Membership/SoundCloud

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel