Dublin: 15°C Thursday 5 August 2021

Sexton and Briggs scoop player of the year gong

The trophy-lifting goal-kickers are the toast of the Guinness Irish rugby writers tonight.

Niamh Briggs and Jonathan Sexton picks up their awards.
Niamh Briggs and Jonathan Sexton picks up their awards.
Image: INPHO/Dan Sheridan

THE IRISH RUGBY WRITER’S association has named Ireland international goal-kickers Jonathan Sexton and Niamh Briggs as their players of the year at a ceremony in Dublin this evening.

Before his switch to Racing Metro, Sexton helped Leinster to two trophies and played a pivotal role in the Lions series win over Australia during the summer.

Briggs was instrumental in Ireland women lifting claiming the Grand Slam in March. The UL Bohemians player not only kicked the only scores in the title-clinching win in Italy, but provided a regular try-scoring threat including a touchdown in the 15 – 10 win over France.

“It has been a long time since I won an individual award,” Sexton said in a statement released this evening.

“It’s not something you set out to achieve, you want to win things from a team perspective, but it is nice to see your efforts recognised on an individual basis. As an out half you need to thank all of the players you’ve played with and the coaches as well, because you rely on them so heavily.

“It’s a good sign that if the number 10 wins an award that the team has done their job well, too.”

Other awards at  the event hosted at the Guinness Storehouse went to Leinster (Team of the Year), Donal Lenihan (Guinness Hall of Fame), Alain Rolland (Tom Rooney Award) and Lansdowne (club of the year).

Ewan McKenzie: the man who could have been Ireland coach

Northampton’s George Pisi cited over Bowe ‘tip tackle’

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel